The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Your call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55783-your-call.html)

just another ref Sun Dec 13, 2009 05:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 642304)
Lcubed48, A1 starts a dribble just outside the elbow, B1 is running alongside A1 and as A1 gets a few feet from the basket briibles into B1 (or B1's path) and contact is made.

Do you still call a foul on A1?

Does LGP come into play in this situation?

As I picture the play, it is not a LGP situation. The two players are running parallel. A1 moves into B1. Depending on the contact, I have a foul on A1 or nothing.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 641482)
A1 needs to give B1 time and distance before setting a screen. I used to get away with this a lot as a point guard.


Go to the head of the class young man. :D

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 641474)
Player A1 dribbling down the floor.

Player B1 (defense) running down the floor.

A1 dribbles into the path of B1 and both bodies hit the floor.

What do you have?



Let us review some of the basics of guarding and screening:

1) The rules of guarding apply to the defense only.

2) The rules of screening apply to all ten (10) players. That even means the player in control of the ball.


Regarding this play, I agree that it is a HTBT play. Having said that, if B1 is running in a straight line and A1 moves into B1's path, A1 must give time and distance when setting his screen against B1.

MTD, Sr.

Lcubed48 Tue Dec 15, 2009 03:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny ringo (Post 642304)
lcubed48, a1 starts a dribble just outside the elbow, b1 is running alongside a1 and as a1 gets a few feet from the basket briibles into b1 (or b1's path) and contact is made.

Do you still call a foul on a1?

Does lgp come into play in this situation?

yes!

no!

tadams Tue Dec 15, 2009 09:13am

If the situation as described is that A is slightly ahead of B then it is Bs responsibility to yeild to A. Not much different that the two players running up the floor then the lead player (A) stops/slows and the behind player runs up their back. Not much different than a player driving down the outside of the lane, veers to the basket and gets clipped by a defensive player (B) running any straight path. Foul on B in all situations. That would be my call based on the rational that no legal guarding position is established, time and distance is not applied because A. no blind screen and B. a speeding player isn't getting screened with no chance of avoidance.

In this case, my imagination would have to call a foul on B or worst case a no call. I cant see a foul on A against who is ahead of a running defensive player that does not have legal guarding position. :eek:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1