The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 25, 2009, 06:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle View Post
If B intercepts the ball in A's frontcourt and throws a bullet towards B's frontcourt for a break-away, but A-1 leaps high into the air a step in front of the division line (in A's frontcourt), and then falls or lands in A's backcourt from the momentum of the leap, isn't that a backcourt violation on A? Exactly same as the interp--the exception being a deflected touch by B, instead of a pass. Either way, A-1, regardless of where he catches the ball, is the last to touch it in A's frontcourt and when he touches down in A's backcourt, it is a violation. I think the interp is 100% correct.....IMHO....
No. B1 intercepted, threw a pass...who now has team control?
A1 cannot commit a BC violation without team control.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 25, 2009, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Please analyze the following play with consideration to the interp:

A1 is holding the ball and standing on the 3pt line in his backcourt. He throws a pass towards A2 who has a similar position in Team A's frontcourt. However, B1 jumps from the center restraining circle just inside Team A's frontcourt and bats the pass back towards A1 who catches the ball. The ball never touches the floor and neither A1 nor A2 move during the play.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 25, 2009, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Please analyze the following play with consideration to the interp:

A1 is holding the ball and standing on the 3pt line in his backcourt. He throws a pass towards A2 who has a similar position in Team A's frontcourt. However, B1 jumps from the center restraining circle just inside Team A's frontcourt and bats the pass back towards A1 who catches the ball. The ball never touches the floor and neither A1 nor A2 move during the play.
No BC violation. A never had TC in the frontcourt. Since B1's tap does not end TC, continue the 10-second count.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 25, 2009, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
No BC violation. A never had TC in the frontcourt. Since B1's tap does not end TC, continue the 10-second count.
Actually, A had team control, and the ball did have front court status when B1 tapped it.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 25, 2009, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
No BC violation. A never had TC in the frontcourt. Since B1's tap does not end TC, continue the 10-second count.
Oh c'mon.

Wait -- I just noticed the smiley.

Nevermind.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 25, 2009, 07:50pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
When Irish Eyes Are Smiley ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I just noticed the smiley.
I missed the smiley the first time. I had to read it several times because mbyron is usually pretty reliable with his interpretations, citations, and opinions. I was going to reply with a corection, but M&M Guy beat me to the punch.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 25, 2009, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Please analyze the following play with consideration to the interp:

A1 is holding the ball and standing on the 3pt line in his backcourt. He throws a pass towards A2 who has a similar position in Team A's frontcourt. However, B1 jumps from the center restraining circle just inside Team A's frontcourt and bats the pass back towards A1 who catches the ball. The ball never touches the floor and neither A1 nor A2 move during the play.
Excellent point. This scenario is fundamentally the same as the controversial OP stitch. There is no way I would ever call Nevada’s scenario a back court violation (Not unless I get hazard pay). However, it adheres to the same principals as the OP sitch, which by interpretation is a BC violation according to the feds. I have been in the camp of not calling that particular BC violation because the reasoning in the interp didn’t seem strong enough. Now, after looking at it from the point of view presented by Nevada, I feel even stronger that the OP sitch is an improper interpretation of back court.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 26, 2009, 03:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Please analyze the following play with consideration to the interp:

A1 is holding the ball and standing on the 3pt line in his backcourt. He throws a pass towards A2 who has a similar position in Team A's frontcourt. However, B1 jumps from the center restraining circle just inside Team A's frontcourt and bats the pass back towards A1 who catches the ball. The ball never touches the floor and neither A1 nor A2 move during the play.
What do you call here?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 26, 2009, 07:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
What do you call here?
He calls nothing because:

1. He recognizes the impossibility of following both the rule and the interp in every case.
2. He chooses to follow the rule where the two diverge.
3. By the rule, this situation is nothing.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 26, 2009, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Does the 10-second count continue?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 26, 2009, 03:46pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
New Count ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Does the 10-second count continue?
Continue? No. But, start a new count as soon as the ball touches A1 in Nevadaref's question, or in more general terms for this situation, when the ball touches the floor in the backcourt, or touches a Team A player in the backcourt.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Nov 27, 2009 at 10:50am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1