![]() |
|
|
|||
Foul during shot (off ball)
A1 shots and makes bucket. During shot, (a) A2 is fouled by B2 or (b) B2 is fouled by A2.
I believe that in both situations that the bucket would count, and the ball would be inbounded by the offended team at the POI. Am I correct? Can you point me in the right direction. I have my rulebook here and can't find it. Any help would be helpful. |
|
|||
Quote:
It's certainly possible for A2 to go to the line in this situation. However, not for only one shot ("And 1") - it'd either be bonus or double bonus. |
|
|||
You're looking for when the ball becomes dead during a try (a shot attempt). And you're looking for whether that answer is different depending on whether the offense or defense commits the foul.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
So in 6-7, it says the ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends, or until the airborne shooter lands.
I might not be understanding, but if a foul happens during the try or tap (ball is in air), no matter what, I am calling the foul, but counting the bucket if made and awarding a throw in to the offended team. |
|
|||
What if a team is in the bonus or double bonus? If it's during a try then there's no team control, right? So it doesn't matter who it is on you are going to shoot if they are in the bonus/double bonus, right?
|
|
|||
Try these rules to help you understand:
6-7-4 6-7-7 (and exceptions listed at end of 6-7) and let not forget continuation 4-11-1,2, & 3 Also, 4-12 especially 4-12-1 (player control) 4-12-2a (team control) 4-12-3a (team control ends) Therefore you must know 1 who fouled. 2. when did the foul occur (ie. before or after the release of the ball on try or tap). 3. does team control exist 4. ball dead or still alive. Last edited by Daryl H. Long; Wed Nov 18, 2009 at 12:55am. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
In ALL situations in which a foul occurs by either team after the ball is in flight on a try or tap the goal is counted. As Nevada said play is not resumed at POI (incorrect terminology) but according to circumstances dictated by the foul.
Throw in at spot nearest foul Free throws (1 and 1 or 2) |
|
|||
The tricky part is if the foul occurs before ball is in flight on tap or try.
A1 jumps to shoot. If A2 fouls before A1 releases the ball no points will be scored. A1 had player control therefore A2 foul is a team control foul. The ball becomes dead immediately, no FT's, and B put ball in play by Throw in. A1 jumps to shoot. B2 fouls A2. Because of continuation rule it does not matter if ball has been relesed or not. A1 is allowed to continue the try and the goal will be counted if successful. Play will then resume with either a throw in by A at spot nearest B2's foul or by free throws (1 and 1 or 2). |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
"Continuous motion applies to a try or tap for field goals and free throws, but it has no significance unless there is a foul by any defensive player during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try or with the touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight. "If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight." (NFHS 4-11-1,2) "Continuous motion applies to a try for field goal or free throw, but shall have no significance unless there is a foul by the defense during the interval that begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try or with the touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight." (NCAA 4-14) The NFHS definition is more detailed, especially about what constitutes "habitual throwing movement", but the rules appear to be otherwise the same.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Shots for A & B would only be shot if bonus were in affect. If bonus is not in effect than offended team would get a throw-in. What I need to find out is if B's throw-in would be anywhere along the endline or would it be a designated spot throw-in.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Live ball foul administered as a dead ball foul | ML99 | Football | 2 | Sun Nov 01, 2009 08:38am |
Dead ball foul, then live ball foul? | stegenref | Football | 13 | Fri Sep 18, 2009 12:47pm |
Question - Foul away from ball after release of the shot | bradfordwilkins | Basketball | 3 | Wed Feb 23, 2005 06:24pm |
Ball stops on rim during foul shot. | hbioteach | Basketball | 1 | Wed Dec 22, 2004 01:42pm |
foul off the ball while shot is in the flight | timharris | Basketball | 6 | Sun Dec 08, 2002 08:25pm |