The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 14, 2009, 06:11pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,398
Similar, But Not Exactly The Same Situation...

2.10.1 SITUATION A: A1 is fouled and entitled to two free throws under the double-bonus rule, however, the officials indicate a one-and-one bonus situation. The first attempt is unsuccessful; B4 rebounds the ball and passes it up to B2. The error is discovered with B2 in possession of the live ball near mid-court. RULING: The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe, and shall be corrected. Team B securing the rebound and passing to a teammate constitutes no change in team possession. Therefore, A1 will receive the merited free throw with players on the lane and play resumes from the free throw. (2-10-1a)

2.10.1 SITUATION H: A1 has been awarded two free throws. Erroneously, the ball is allowed to remain in play after A1 misses on the first attempt. A2 rebounds the miss and tosses the ball through the basket. B1 secures the ball and inbounds it. Play continues until a foul is called on A2 as B is passing the ball in B’s frontcourt. RULING: The goal by A2 counts, but the error of not awarding A1 a second free throw is no longer correctable. Since the ball remained in play on the missed free throw, the clock started and the ball became dead when the goal was scored. When the ball became live on the subsequent throw-in, the time period for correction had expired.

2.10.1 SITUATION J: A1 is fouled by B1 while in the act of shooting and the try or tap is successful. The administering official erroneously awards and announces two free throws instead of one. A1’s first attempt is unsuccessful and B1 rebounds. Play continues briefly with B1 advancing the ball before the official recognizes the error and stops play. RULING: Since A1 has attempted the merited free throw he/she was entitled to, there is no further correction to be made. Play shall resume with a throw-in by Team B at the out-of bounds spot nearest to where play was interrupted.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So, how'd you like a game to start like THIS? Rich Basketball 65 Thu Feb 26, 2009 08:04am
How'd you like to work for these guys? KSRef Football 4 Wed Oct 05, 2005 02:41pm
How'd they do that? eventnyc Feedback 6 Wed Jan 19, 2005 03:10pm
How'd we do? bard Basketball 8 Wed Dec 05, 2001 05:30pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1