The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 08, 2009, 11:19pm
zac zac is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 23
Did we get it right?

A1 try in the air. A2 fouls B1 after shot, but before made goal. B not in the bonus. We counted the 2 points for A, reported the foul on A2, and continued with a B throw-in. Just checking. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 12:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by zac View Post
A1 try in the air. A2 fouls B1 after shot, but before made goal. B not in the bonus. We counted the 2 points for A, reported the foul on A2, and continued with a B throw-in. Just checking. Thanks
Yes, and Team B may run the end line during the throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 12:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by zac View Post
A1 try in the air. A2 fouls B1 after shot, but before made goal. B not in the bonus. We counted the 2 points for A, reported the foul on A2, and continued with a B throw-in. Just checking. Thanks
As long as the ball was released before A2's foul, you got it right.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 04:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
As long as the ball was released before A2's foul, you got it right.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zac View Post
A1 try in the air. A2 fouls B1 after shot, but before made goal. B not in the bonus. We counted the 2 points for A, reported the foul on A2, and continued with a B throw-in. Just checking. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 07:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
I take it that BktBallRef was merely emphasizing the importance of the order for this particular play. As posted, they got it right. If the foul had happened first, it would have been TC, dead ball, no shot.

What's the call if they happen simultaneously?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 08:33am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
What's the call if they happen simultaneously?
Ya get with your partner(s) and make sure one happened just a split second before the other, report it, and move on.

Troublemaker!
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Yes, and Team B may run the end line during the throw-in.
What if the foul didn't happen near the end-line?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
What's the call if they happen simultaneously?
Impossible, by rule.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
What if the foul didn't happen near the end-line?
7-5 ART. 7 . . . After a goal or awarded goal as in 7-4-3, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end line.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 10:08am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
7-5 ART. 7 . . . After a goal or awarded goal as in 7-4-3, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end line.
Look for the rule dealing with the throwin spots. If you just go by this rule, then B would get the ball even if they committed a foul.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 10:56am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Ya get with your partner(s) and make sure one happened just a split second before the other, report it, and move on.
Just like on a blarge.

Quote:

Impossible, by rule.
Just like a blarge.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 04:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
What if the foul didn't happen near the end-line?
Good point, bob.

If the foul by A2 took place in a location on the floor which would not result in a throw-in somewhere along the end line of Team B's backcourt, then the throw-in would simply be a designated-spot throw-in from the OOB location nearest to where the foul was committed.

That was something worth pointing out to people.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
What if the foul didn't happen near the end-line?.
Oooo. Good question.

My gut says spot throw in from the appropriate spot determined by the location of the foul. BUT that would in a way permit the fouling team to gain an advantage, so to speak, of negating the advantage team B would have to run the endline after a made basket.

Gonna have to check the books on that. Dont have them at my desk.

[edit: serves me right to respond to the post before reading to the end of the thread to see if anyone answered the question. Thanks Nevada. -Clark]
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 03:43pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Just to answer your point about the advantage; it's a wash. As an offense, would you rather have an endline throwin or a spot throwin on the sideline, further down court?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I take it that BktBallRef was merely emphasizing the importance of the order for this particular play. As posted, they got it right. If the foul had happened first, it would have been TC, dead ball, no shot.
Exactly. NVRef is just being his normal smartass know-it-all self.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1