The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 08, 2009, 11:19pm
zac zac is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 23
Did we get it right?

A1 try in the air. A2 fouls B1 after shot, but before made goal. B not in the bonus. We counted the 2 points for A, reported the foul on A2, and continued with a B throw-in. Just checking. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 12:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by zac View Post
A1 try in the air. A2 fouls B1 after shot, but before made goal. B not in the bonus. We counted the 2 points for A, reported the foul on A2, and continued with a B throw-in. Just checking. Thanks
Yes, and Team B may run the end line during the throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 12:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by zac View Post
A1 try in the air. A2 fouls B1 after shot, but before made goal. B not in the bonus. We counted the 2 points for A, reported the foul on A2, and continued with a B throw-in. Just checking. Thanks
As long as the ball was released before A2's foul, you got it right.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 04:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
As long as the ball was released before A2's foul, you got it right.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zac View Post
A1 try in the air. A2 fouls B1 after shot, but before made goal. B not in the bonus. We counted the 2 points for A, reported the foul on A2, and continued with a B throw-in. Just checking. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 07:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
I take it that BktBallRef was merely emphasizing the importance of the order for this particular play. As posted, they got it right. If the foul had happened first, it would have been TC, dead ball, no shot.

What's the call if they happen simultaneously?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 08:33am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,643
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
What's the call if they happen simultaneously?
Ya get with your partner(s) and make sure one happened just a split second before the other, report it, and move on.

Troublemaker!
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Yes, and Team B may run the end line during the throw-in.
What if the foul didn't happen near the end-line?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
What's the call if they happen simultaneously?
Impossible, by rule.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
What if the foul didn't happen near the end-line?
7-5 ART. 7 . . . After a goal or awarded goal as in 7-4-3, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end line.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 10:08am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
7-5 ART. 7 . . . After a goal or awarded goal as in 7-4-3, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end line.
Look for the rule dealing with the throwin spots. If you just go by this rule, then B would get the ball even if they committed a foul.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Look for the rule dealing with the throwin spots. If you just go by this rule, then B would get the ball even if they committed a foul.
Really? You must be joking.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 10:30am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by eg-italy View Post
Really? You must be joking.
Not joking so much as making a point. My point was the rule quoted doesn't really apply to this situation, or the result would be as I posted.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 83
Similar

Had something similar this weekend....A1 drives the lane and shoots. B1 comes running over from middle of the lane and attempts to block shot. A1 returns to the floor and then is run over by B1 whose momentum carried him through A1.

I whistle the foul from lead. My partner tells me the shot went in. So we count the basket and A has a throw-in from the point of the interruption since A1 had returned to the floor and was no longer an airborne shooter.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by The R View Post
A has a throw-in from the point of the interruption
How does POI enter into this play?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
How does POI enter into this play?
Where else would you have the throwin from?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 10:56am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Ya get with your partner(s) and make sure one happened just a split second before the other, report it, and move on.
Just like on a blarge.

Quote:

Impossible, by rule.
Just like a blarge.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1