![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Case book. Page 75. 9.9.1 Situation D.
Ask tjones1 for the past interps. 2007-2008 SITUATION 7: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team's backcourt (Team B's frontcourt). A1's throw-in is deflected by B1, who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from his/her frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team B. The throw-in ends with B1's deflection (legal touch). When B2 gains possession/ control in the air, he/she has frontcourt status. A backcourt violation has occurred when B2 lands in backcourt. (9-9-1; 9-9-3) SITUATION 8: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team's backcourt (Team B's frontcourt). A1's throw-in is intercepted by B1. B1 jumps from his/her frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands first foot in the frontcourt and second foot in the backcourt. RULING: No violation, legal play. It doesn't matter if one foot lands before the other provided it is a "normal landing." Since there was no deflection, the throw-in had not ended. (9-9-1; 9-9-3) SITUATION 9: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team's frontcourt (Team B's backcourt). A1's throw-in is deflected by B1, who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from his/her backcourt and catches the ball in the air. B2 lands with the first foot in the frontcourt and second foot in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team B. The throw-in ends with the deflection (legal touch) by B1. B2 gains possession/control and first lands in Team B's frontcourt and then steps in Team B's backcourt. The provision for making a normal landing only applies to the exceptions of a throw-in and a defensive player, and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball. (9-9-1; 9-9-3) |
|
|||
|
This case play is not the same as it was last year, which is the book I was looking in.
Seems to me the NFHS needs to define what a defensive player is, if they plan on changing rulings based on whether or not a player is on offense or defense. The ball being tipped does not changed the fact that B1 was considered to be a defender when the ball was given to thrower A1. If this is a BC violation, then the defensive player exception needs to be removed completely from the rule. I'm still with Camron on this one.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Well... you have a choice. Enforce the ruling as per the interp, or disregard the rule and enforce the play the way you want. Who is going to know?
![]() Who was the member that submitted the plays to NFHS? Maybe we can get the interp changed to read the exception is for the 1st player (Team A member or Team B member) that securs control of the ball. Thus the deflection only directs the clock to start.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Can't. We all said FORGET IT! (or various versions thereof)
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Yet another backcourt violation question | ATXCoach | Basketball | 7 | Mon Dec 18, 2006 03:27pm |
| Another backcourt violation question | edge62 | Basketball | 10 | Thu Feb 24, 2005 02:54pm |
| Backcourt Violation Question | manhong | Basketball | 5 | Thu Feb 10, 2005 08:34am |
| backcourt violation question | pank | Basketball | 4 | Tue Mar 09, 2004 05:58pm |
| Is it a backcourt violation ? | fshrake | Basketball | 2 | Sat Nov 04, 2000 02:32pm |