The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 05, 2009, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinski View Post
BC violation in both cases. The throw-in ended and its allowances once the ball was legally touched. 4-42-5

Rule 9: SECTION 9 BACKCOURT

(From 03-04 book)

EXCEPTION 1: It is not a violation when after a jump ball or a throw-in, a player is the first to secure control of the ball while both feet are off the floor and he or she then returns to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt.
EXCEPTION 2: It is not a violation if a defensive player who jumped from frontcourt, secures control of the ball while both feet are off the floor and he or she returns to the floor with one or both feet in backcourt.
(From 06-07 book)
ART. 3 . . . A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.
According to the older rules, you'd clearly be wrong as exception 1 (the throwin exception) applied until someone was the first to secure control without regard to how many times it was touched or who touched it.


But according to the editorial rewrite that occured a couple years ago (one that wasn't supposed to change the meaning), the throwin exception appears to only apply until the throwin ends...when the ball is touched. This has been debated before and the rule does say that a player from the team not in control can legally catch the ball (with examples of who may catch it in parentheses)....but others say that the parentheses provides an exclusive list of when/who can catch the ball, not just examples.


However, the new version of the rule still always allows a defender the to catch the ball and land without violating. The question, then, is whether B1 is a defender. Can someone be a defender without the other team having team control? Hmmm.


I assert that the older rules give us insight into the meaning (since it was supposed to be an editorial change and not a rule change).....leading the the result that it is not a violation for B1.


They really took a clear rule and made it a mess when they rewrote it. In its former state, it was fully unambiguous. In its current form, it is ambiguous at best.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yet another backcourt violation question ATXCoach Basketball 7 Mon Dec 18, 2006 03:27pm
Another backcourt violation question edge62 Basketball 10 Thu Feb 24, 2005 02:54pm
Backcourt Violation Question manhong Basketball 5 Thu Feb 10, 2005 08:34am
backcourt violation question pank Basketball 4 Tue Mar 09, 2004 05:58pm
Is it a backcourt violation ? fshrake Basketball 2 Sat Nov 04, 2000 02:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1