The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 04, 2009, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by icallfouls View Post
That is what I thought the description was saying...and the picture makes it clear. However, without a precise marking on the floor, it will be a gray area and some officials will still not call a charge even if the player is a foot or even three outside that "box" with the claim that the player was "under the basket"...as they already do.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 04, 2009, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 719
NCAA Secondary Defender Rule

here is the rule and rationale for it as well as the rationale for not having it marked on the floor

New Rule. A secondary defender may not establish initial legal guarding position under the basket when playing a player who is in control of the ball (i.e., dribbling or shooting) or who has released the ball for a pass or try for goal. A secondary defender is a teammate who has helped a primary defender who has been beaten by an opponent because he failed to establish or maintain a guarding position. “Under the basket” is defined as from the front and side of the ring to the front of the backboard. A player is considered under the basket when any part of either foot is in this area. (Note: An approved ruling will indicate that a player straddling this area is considered to be under the basket.)


In establishing position in any outnumbering fast break situation, a player may not establish initial legal guarding position under the basket since there is no primary defender.


In both cases, when illegal contact occurs, such contact shall be called a blocking foul, unless the contact is intentional or flagrant.

Rationale:The committee is responding to overwhelming concern from the membership regarding contact under the basket. After some consideration of a restricted arc, the committee decided that court markings were not needed, but changed its rule in reference to secondary player establishing initial guarding position under the basket.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 04, 2009, 02:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 201
While the committee explains their rationale, could they also explain the logic to now let A drive baseline, go up for a reverse lay-up or reverse jam, and completely splatter a stationary secondary defender under the hoop to draw the blocking foul.

How else is a secondary defender supposed to stop that drive?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 04, 2009, 04:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 719
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse James View Post
While the committee explains their rationale, could they also explain the logic to now let A drive baseline, go up for a reverse lay-up or reverse jam, and completely splatter a stationary secondary defender under the hoop to draw the blocking foul.

How else is a secondary defender supposed to stop that drive?
That is not what the NCAA is saying. All they are saying is that there is a 2x2 sf box where the secondary defender cannot set up.

The play you are talking about can still draw a charge if the defense is, basically, clear of the cylinder. If the defense is just outside this box then the charge can be drawn. You just can't establish LGP while under the basket.

This will help prevent unsafe situations and REQUIRE the officials to make a call.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 04, 2009, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by icallfouls View Post
That is not what the NCAA is saying. All they are saying is that there is a 2x2 sf box where the secondary defender cannot set up.

The play you are talking about can still draw a charge if the defense is, basically, clear of the cylinder. If the defense is just outside this box then the charge can be drawn. You just can't establish LGP while under the basket.

This will help prevent unsafe situations and REQUIRE the officials to make a call.
The issue is that the NBA variation of this rule has never affected baseline drives. Their reason is that being under the basket, even directly under it, is a legitamate defensive position for defending the reverse layup. It takes away the offense's path to the point where they'd prefer to take the shot where it doesn't do so for drives from points not along the baseline (it is a spot after the release of the shot).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 05, 2009, 12:56am
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
The reason the NCAA did not adopt the exact NBA rule is that there is a 2-3 year notice they need to give schools to make the proper markings on their court. If the committee is happy with the new rule, I wouldn't be surprised to see the markings in the necessary 2-3 year timeframe.

The region is much smaller in NCAA (literally the area under the cylinder), so that could have been a factor as well.

This new rule defeats the initiative 2 years ago where a POE was to call charges anywhere on the court especially under the hoop. Funny how things change so quickly.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 05, 2009, 04:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 280
Wowzers

In establishing position in any outnumbering fast break situation, a player may not establish initial legal guarding position under the basket since there is no primary defender.

This may be the single stupidest statement in the history of basketball. If it's a three on two break, you can't have LGP under the basket? A fast-breaking guard can now drop her shoulder, bang into a big who has established position underneath and get two from the line? How can you have a rule that creates the concept of legal guarding position and then say "wait, it doesn't count based on where the players involved in the contact were several steps before contact, because the principle of advantage/disadvantage doesn't apply in our Special Unmarked Area Of Magical Powers?"

But then, I thought (and still think) the three-point shot is as bad an idea as the designated hitter for the pitcher
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 05, 2009, 06:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by amusedofficial View Post
[FONT=Times New Roman][B][SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri] A fast-breaking guard can now drop her shoulder,
No, that can't happen.

This is a NCAAM change only.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 05, 2009, 10:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln Co, Missouri
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
No, that can't happen.

This is a NCAAM change only.
Well played, sir.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Rule change on linemen Texas Aggie Football 25 Mon Aug 03, 2009 02:02pm
NCAA Rule change? - Question #57 NCAA Test ljudge Football 2 Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:21am
NCAA Rule Change Canfootball52 Football 6 Tue Aug 21, 2007 08:25am
Help on NCAA rule change Jesse James Basketball 1 Wed Aug 30, 2006 06:27am
NCAA Rule Change bob jenkins Basketball 1 Thu Dec 28, 2000 07:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1