![]() |
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Really??? do you have a rule reference for this??? |
|
|||
NCAA A.R.172.
A1 drives to the basket and: (1) The referee calls a player-control foul and an umpire calls a block; or (2) The referee calls a charge and an umpire calls a block. RULING: This is uncharacteristic of a double personal foul where one official adjudicates the obviously committed fouls against two op ponents. (Men) In (1) and (2), the two officials disagree that the fouls occurred simultaneously. In (1), the ball shall be awarded to Team A, the team in control, at the point of interruption with no reset of the shot clock. (Rule 2-11.7.f, 7-4.1.d and 7-5.8) In (2), the two officials disagree as to whether there was a charge or a block, however, the ball was released by A1. Although there is no team control while a ball is in flight, when the goal is successful, play shall resume at the point of interruption by awarding the ball to Team B, the team not credited with the score, at the end line with the privilege to run the end line. When the try is not successful, play shall resume at the point of interruption with the use of the alternating possession arrow and a reset of the shot clock. (Rule 7-5.9) (Women) In (1) and (2), when the officials signal simultaneously, they shall get together and agree to give the call to the official who had the play originate in his/her primary. When the officials disagree that the fouls occurred simultaneously, they shall determine which foul occurred first. Once a decision is reached, that foul is reported to the official scorer and the appropriate penalty is assessed. (Rule 4-9, 4-10, 4-29 and 4-35.1)
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
Thank you!! I had a supervisor (W-NCAA) a couple yrs ago that talked about the blarge in the womens' game, and I know of a specific situation that happened last yr with some DI officials where they had a blarge and went with the double foul. I obviously need to get the rule book back out and start studying. Do you happen to know if this is a recent change? |
|
|||
Quote:
I'm still not honestly sure which method I like best. A "blarge" usually happens because the officials haven't done their job properly - maybe it's an official calling outside their area, or both officials giving a preliminary signal during the double whistle without making eye contact first and allowing one official to take the call. In NCAA-W, we end up making the "proper" call because we go with the primary official's call, but one coach will feel screwed because they think the call that favored their team is somhow being over-ruled or ignored. In Fed., both coaches get appeased somewhat because both fouls are penalized, but it still goes against basic rules principles (how can you have both a charge and a block on the same play?). Either way, the officials' mistake has caused the issue, so it's best to avoid the blarge altogether.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Differences between NFHS and NCAA rules | bradfordwilkins | Basketball | 5 | Thu Apr 02, 2009 09:23am |
URL or NCAA/OBR rules differences | jkumpire | Baseball | 5 | Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:23pm |
ncaa rules differences | ggk | Baseball | 4 | Tue May 09, 2006 09:28pm |
Rules Differences FED/NCAA/NBA | lukealex | Basketball | 5 | Tue May 17, 2005 01:54pm |
NCAA and NFHS Basketball Rules Differences - 2004-05 | mick | Basketball | 0 | Fri Jun 04, 2004 05:52am |