The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 10:37am
Official Forum Member

What do make per game at team camps?

Let me preface this with "I am a coach but I come in peace!"

I am considering starting a summer league next year for varsity girls. I would like to have state certified officials to do the games. Can you tell me what you are paid/game in leagues such as this and team camps?

Thanks in advance!
coachgrd
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 10:57am
Keeper of the HAMMER

Quote:
Originally Posted by coachgrd View Post

I am considering starting a summer league next year for varsity girls. I would like to have state certified officials to do the games. Can you tell me what you are paid/game in leagues such as this and team camps?

Thanks in advance!
coachgrd
This is going to vary widely by region. Are you in a metro area that utilizes assigners? Find out from the AD of a local high school how their officials are assigned. Then, if there's an assigner, that assigner will be able to answer your question better than anyone here (unless there happens to be an official from your city here).
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 11:14am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by coachgrd View Post

Thanks in advance!
coachgrd
What happens in Ontario is camps are run by Basketball Ontario in conjunction with the the Provincial Officials Association.

The kids play their games and do their drills while officials get class room and floor instruction from experienced officials. Then the teams play a series of games, which the officials referee.

Maybe you could look into having an officials camp run in conjunction with your camp.
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 11:15am
Do not give a damn!!

I do not even know what is the difference between a Team Camp and summer league is the first place.

Peace
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 11:39am
Keeper of the HAMMER

Quote: