The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What do make per game at team camps? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/54212-what-do-make-per-game-team-camps.html)

coachgrd Mon Aug 03, 2009 10:37am

What do make per game at team camps?

Let me preface this with "I am a coach but I come in peace!":D

I am considering starting a summer league next year for varsity girls. I would like to have state certified officials to do the games. Can you tell me what you are paid/game in leagues such as this and team camps?

Thanks in advance!
coachgrd

Adam Mon Aug 03, 2009 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by coachgrd (Post 618592)

I am considering starting a summer league next year for varsity girls. I would like to have state certified officials to do the games. Can you tell me what you are paid/game in leagues such as this and team camps?

Thanks in advance!
coachgrd

This is going to vary widely by region. Are you in a metro area that utilizes assigners? Find out from the AD of a local high school how their officials are assigned. Then, if there's an assigner, that assigner will be able to answer your question better than anyone here (unless there happens to be an official from your city here).

constable Mon Aug 03, 2009 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by coachgrd (Post 618592)

Thanks in advance!
coachgrd

What happens in Ontario is camps are run by Basketball Ontario in conjunction with the the Provincial Officials Association.

The kids play their games and do their drills while officials get class room and floor instruction from experienced officials. Then the teams play a series of games, which the officials referee.

Maybe you could look into having an officials camp run in conjunction with your camp.

JRutledge Mon Aug 03, 2009 11:15am

I do not even know what is the difference between a Team Camp and summer league is the first place.

Peace