The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 22, 2009, 02:01pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Ch1town and SmokeEater:

The only problem with you agreeing with Nevada is you both would be wrong. The rules (NFHS, NCAA, and even FIBA) are quite clear. B2 is entitled to what FIBA calls his/her Cylinder of Verticality. B2 is entitled to his vertical space and the ability to stand, hold his/her arms straight up, and to jump all of the way to the rafters unimpeded.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Tue Jun 23, 2009 at 12:05pm. Reason: Changed A2 to B2 because I did not proof read my post before hitting the send button.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 22, 2009, 02:16pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Scenario:
Rebound situation, B2 blocking out A2. A2 jumps up and over B2 in such a way that he would pass to the side even though his torso is directly over top of B2 to grab the rebound. B2 then jumps straight up to grab the same rebound. Both players fall to the floor and the ball trickles away.

I've got a foul on A2.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 22, 2009, 03:07pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
A2 is entitled to his vertical space and the ability to stand, hold his/her arms straight up, and to jump all of the way to the rafters unimpeded.

MTD, Sr.
You mean B2? And even after A2 gained possession & TC control?
Should A2 just patiently wait until B2 decides to straighten up & jump for the ball??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Scenario:
Rebound situation, B2 blocking out A2. A2 jumps up and over B2 in such a way that he would pass to the side even though his torso is directly over top of B2 to grab the rebound. B2 then jumps straight up to grab the same rebound. Both players fall to the floor and the ball trickles away.

I've got a foul on A2.
The "same rebound" is where your sitch differs from the original. There wasn't any rebound for A2 to get as B2 already had it before contact occured, sounds like a play on to me.

Say in the OP that B2 had the same actions over A2 but he punched it home while he was in the air... we aren't really wiping that off are we?

I don't the intent of the verticality is to reward players who don't even jump for a rebound. You gotta at least leave the ground, IMHO.

Last edited by Ch1town; Mon Jun 22, 2009 at 03:12pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 22, 2009, 03:26pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
I don't the intent of the verticality is to reward players who don't even jump for a rebound. You gotta at least leave the ground, IMHO.
Well, you could be right if the rule only said they may jump. But it also says they may extend their arms and says nothing about a requirement to leave the floor.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 22, 2009, 03:31pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Well, you could be right if the rule only said they may jump. But it also says they may extend their arms and says nothing about a requirement to leave the floor.
Absolutely that's what it says, but isn't this the place where I learned about intent & application of the rule?

If the rebound is coming down & the player doesn't have to jump, sure put your arms up & get it or should I say be lazy & let the rebound come to you. If somebody went over the top in that case, yeah a foul. But it sounded as if the offensive player went upstairs to get it while the defender was bent over playing tidley winks & then decided to stick his arms up for a rebound that no longer existed... by rule.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 22, 2009, 03:52pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Absolutely that's what it says, but isn't this the place where I learned about intent & application of the rule?

If the rebound is coming down & the player doesn't have to jump, sure put your arms up & get it or should I say be lazy & let the rebound come to you. If somebody went over the top in that case, yeah a foul. But it sounded as if the offensive player went upstairs to get it while the defender was bent over playing tidley winks & then decided to stick his arms up for a rebound that no longer existed... by rule.
Sure, we have to look at intent. But no where does it say the intent of this rule is to enforce proper technique or coaching. The purpose and intent of the rules is to ensure players don't gain an advantage by breaking the rules. The player is not breaking any rules here. He's bent over in a box out position (presumably) and straightens once the quick rebound goes over his head. you going to penalize him for standing up? I would go so far as to say you shouldn't penalize him for extending his arms vertically; as specifically allowed for in the rules without any condition of having to be airborne.

The rules say he's allowed to do two things; why penalize him for only doing one?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 22, 2009, 04:46pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Sure, we have to look at intent. But no where does it say the intent of this rule is to enforce proper technique or coaching. The purpose and intent of the rules is to ensure players don't gain an advantage by breaking the rules. The player is not breaking any rules here. He's bent over in a box out position (presumably) and straightens once the quick rebound goes over his head. you going to penalize him for standing up? I would go so far as to say you shouldn't penalize him for extending his arms vertically; as specifically allowed for in the rules without any condition of having to be airborne.

The rules say he's allowed to do two things; why penalize him for only doing one?
No sir, you fail to acknowledge that he "straightens up" after A1 has the rebound & t/c
And I said a few posts ago that this sounds like a play on instead of a game interupter. but hey, it's tough to say what one would/wouldn't call unless you are actually on the court for said play.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 22, 2009, 07:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
. But it sounded as if the offensive player went upstairs to get it while the defender was bent over playing tidley winks & then decided to stick his arms up for a rebound that no longer existed... by rule.
By rule...show me where the end of a rebound is defined and how that relates to verticality?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 23, 2009, 08:55am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
By rule...show me where the end of a rebound is defined and how that relates to verticality?
I thought there is no t/c on the try & t/c is re-established on possession of the rebound.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 22, 2009, 07:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
You mean B2? And even after A2 gained possession & TC control?
Should A2 just patiently wait until B2 decides to straighten up & jump for the ball??
No, but A2 should be aware that by going over B2 and invading B2's space that he (A2) could be called for a foul if B2 choses to exercise his right to verticality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
The "same rebound" is where your sitch differs from the original. There wasn't any rebound for A2 to get as B2 already had it before contact occured, sounds like a play on to me.
None of that really matters. Was B2 in A2's vertical space or not? Even if A2 has the ball it doesn't remove B2's right to the verticality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Say in the OP that B2 had the same actions over A2 but he punched it home while he was in the air... we aren't really wiping that off are we?
Probably not, but that is not at all the same as long as the contact was with A2 upstretched arms. We're talking about whether A2 has committed a foul or not. I'd agree that B2, having his arms over A2 with possesion of the ball will not be a foul on B2 if A2 jumps up into those arms. However, if B2 came through A2's body, that is a different case.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
I don't the intent of the verticality is to reward players who don't even jump for a rebound. You gotta at least leave the ground, IMHO.
But the whole point of the discussion was that the player was going up for the ball....reaching up and/or jumping while B2 had thier arms in the same space.

Analogy...

A3 jumps. Then, B4 takes a spot on the floor, got there "first", is stationary. A3, still airborne, crashes into B4. What do we have? A foul on B4. Why? becasue A3 is entitled to to pass through the spot B4 was in due to prior actions.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 23, 2009, 12:06pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
You mean B2? And even after A2 gained possession & TC control?
Should A2 just patiently wait until B2 decides to straighten up & jump for the ball??



The "same rebound" is where your sitch differs from the original. There wasn't any rebound for A2 to get as B2 already had it before contact occured, sounds like a play on to me.

Say in the OP that B2 had the same actions over A2 but he punched it home while he was in the air... we aren't really wiping that off are we?

I don't the intent of the verticality is to reward players who don't even jump for a rebound. You gotta at least leave the ground, IMHO.

I corrected my post.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Force play or tag play dsbrooks1014 Baseball 3 Tue Apr 21, 2009 09:09pm
was a force play, became a tag play ? _Bruno_ Baseball 8 Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:13am
Play-by-Play Commentary FC IC Basketball 2 Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? David Clausi Basketball 6 Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1