The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   L of a play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/53704-l-play.html)

Amesman Fri Jun 19, 2009 01:21pm

L of a play
 
A1 shoots and A2, who is significantly taller than B2, closes down for an over the back -- but not ON the back -- rebound. Success, but A2 is now effectively an 'L' shape over B2 upon gathering the ball. B2, who was leaning forward, now straightens up and maybe even raises arms straight up. Lots of contact. In B2's airspace.

Whaddya got?

Most often, it's fleeting contact because A2 is pulling out of the fire or on the move, so I got nothing. But what of it if A2, aka "the 'L' " lingers, and even takes a shot, with plenty of contact made in B2's own airspace?

To pre-empt a possible Padgett inquiry, a trip into OT is not on the line.

SAK Fri Jun 19, 2009 01:37pm

Would have to see the play and what was being called earlier in the game. You could have a foul on A2 on the rebound. However, you could have noting.

I'm guessing its one of these you had to be there plays as I cannot picture this in my head.

Adam Fri Jun 19, 2009 02:04pm

It depends. A2 is responsible for the contact, so it's either a foul on A2 or nothing. You have to ask if the contact put B2 at a disadvantage.

mbyron Fri Jun 19, 2009 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amesman (Post 609854)
To pre-empt a possible Padgett inquiry, a trip into OT is not on the line.

Sorry, but it's in Padgett's contract that he can't be preëmpted. ;)

Adam Fri Jun 19, 2009 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 609877)
Sorry, but it's in Padgett's contract that he can't be preëmpted. ;)

Unless Heidi is scheduled.

KP10 Fri Jun 19, 2009 04:10pm

Over the Back
 
Just call the Fall on A2, you said he was in this position,over the back, to call it, sounds like he displaced B...;)

Adam Fri Jun 19, 2009 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KP10 (Post 609892)
Just call the Fall on A2, you said he was in this position,over the back, to call it, sounds like he displaced B...;)

I disagree.

Nevadaref Fri Jun 19, 2009 05:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amesman (Post 609854)
A1 shoots and A2, who is significantly taller than B2, closes down for an over the back -- but not ON the back -- rebound. Success, but A2 is now effectively an 'L' shape over B2 upon gathering the ball. B2, who was leaning forward, now straightens up and maybe even raises arms straight up. Lots of contact. In B2's airspace.

Whaddya got?

Most often, it's fleeting contact because A2 is pulling out of the fire or on the move, so I got nothing. But what of it if A2, aka "the 'L' " lingers, and even takes a shot, with plenty of contact made in B2's own airspace?

To pre-empt a possible Padgett inquiry, a trip into OT is not on the line.

This is a foul on B2. While he is entitled to his vertical space, he must put his body parts in it first and without illegally contacting his opponent. He failed to do that here.

There is no rule against A2 invading the vertical space of B2 without initiating contact. What A2 did on this play is perfectly fine. It was B2 who now caused the contact by getting into his position late.

Think of it this way, if A2 were driving and taking a shot and jumped into the air while extending his arms over B2's head, would you allow B2 to extend his arms straight up and smack the arms of A2 while he attempts his try? Obviously not.

People seem to forget that verticality demands that the player doesn't cause contact with the opponent. That is different from the opponent contacting him.

BillyMac Fri Jun 19, 2009 06:41pm

You're Showing Your Age ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 609888)
Unless Heidi is scheduled.

Snaqwells: Don't you realize that most Forum members hadn't even been born yet in 1968, and, thus, have no idea what you're talking about?

grunewar Fri Jun 19, 2009 07:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 609916)
Snaqwells: Don't you realize that most Forum members hadn't even been born yet in 1968, and, thus, have no idea what you're talking about?

Maybe we should take a poll? ;)

just another ref Fri Jun 19, 2009 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 609916)
Snaqwells: Don't you realize that most Forum members hadn't even been born yet in 1968, and, thus, have no idea what you're talking about?

They may have read about it on the internet.

Mark Padgett Fri Jun 19, 2009 10:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 609888)
Unless Heidi is scheduled.

When I saw this post, I got a smile on my face. I thought it was great that someone would remember and use this reference. Plus - it really was a funny comment to the previous post. Good job. http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...es/2thumbs.gif

Camron Rust Sat Jun 20, 2009 03:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 609902)
This is a foul on B2. While he is entitled to his vertical space, he must put his body parts in it first and without illegally contacting his opponent. He failed to do that here.

There is no rule against A2 invading the vertical space of B2 without initiating contact. What A2 did on this play is perfectly fine. It was B2 who now caused the contact by getting into his position late.

Think of it this way, if A2 were driving and taking a shot and jumped into the air while extending his arms over B2's head, would you allow B2 to extend his arms straight up and smack the arms of A2 while he attempts his try? Obviously not.

People seem to forget that verticality demands that the player doesn't cause contact with the opponent. That is different from the opponent contacting him.

The only foul supported by the rules in this play would be on A2. B2 has only done what the rules expressly permit him to do.
4-23-3d. The guard may raise hands or jump with his/her own vertical space.
It doesn't say they can do so as long as there is no contact. It doesn't say they can only do so as long as no opponent has extended their arms over them. It means that as long as they have LGP, they can legally jump and/or extend their arms straight up....even if it results in contact.

Imagine rebounding action where B2 has his arms over A1 when A1 jumps up for the rebound. Do we call that foul on A1? No. B2 was in A1's vertical space and fouled A1 by having his arms extended in outside of his own vertical space where contact occurred. We call the foul on B2 even if his arms where there first.

Who causes the contact is irrelevant, it is about who is in an illegal position when contact occurs.

BillyMac Sat Jun 20, 2009 06:13am

"Ask, and it shall be given you" (Matthew 7:7) ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 609930)
They may have read about it on the internet.

Heidi Game - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Adam Sat Jun 20, 2009 08:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 609916)
Snaqwells: Don't you realize that most Forum members hadn't even been born yet in 1968, and, thus, have no idea what you're talking about?

Billy, my parents were each in 9th grade, 2000 miles away from each other in 1968; yet I know what it is.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1