The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 02, 2009, 06:19pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by theboys View Post
SI Kids has a section titled "What's the Call?", in which they pose a rules situation about a sport and ask the reader to make the call. They pose a basketball rules question in the June 2009 issue. I'm wondering if they got it right.

Here's the sitch:

The Manitoba Minks and the Calgary Cool are playing a basketball game under NBA rules. After a made free throw by the Minks, Calgary's Jean Giraud takes the ball to throw an inbounds pass. Giraud see his teammate Louis Jenkins breaking away from his defender. But as Giraud leans forward, he accidentally steps on the baseline. Jenkins catches the ball anyway and dribbles upcourt for a basket. Manitoba argues that the basket doesn't count because Giraud stepped on the baseline when he inbounded the ball. You're the official. Is Jenkin's basket good?
God, I love it when a publication makes a GLARING error like this. My local newspaper had a column in their annual football preview (all the local HS, etc) which was similar to the SI Kids column. They had several plays, along with the correct ruling for FED and NCAA. One of the plays (and I can't remember it anymore, it was several years ago) had the NCAA ruling following it, and then a note that the FED ruling was exactly the same. I had to re-read the play several times, and the ruling they had printed, and it occurred to me they didn't get the right ruling for the FED. I emailed the rest of the guys on my crew and gave them the play and asked for the ruling. They all came back with what I had and not what the newspaper had. I called the sports editor and told him he needed to clear that up, and cited the rule number and all that. He said that he had talked to one of the "top" officials from our city and that was the ruling he had gotten. I suggested he call the state association and get a ruling from them, just to back up what I had. Guess what? The next year, I was asked to review the column before it ran.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref Ump Welsch View Post
God, I love it when a publication makes a GLARING error like this.

...

The next year, I was asked to review the column before it ran.
Per the OP, there is no error as the OP does not provide the magazines ruling only the question.

I looked for a later post that includes the magazines ruling and haven't seen it yet.

How can there be a GLARING error, yet?
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 01:00pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
Per the OP, there is no error as the OP does not provide the magazines ruling only the question.

I looked for a later post that includes the magazines ruling and haven't seen it yet.
From theboys second post on this subject: Yeah, that's what I was thinking. If he stepped on the line, but not over the line, he's still out of bounds, so the play is legal. SI Kids says "no bucket".

There's your ruling.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
From theboys second post on this subject: Yeah, that's what I was thinking. If he stepped on the line, but not over the line, he's still out of bounds, so the play is legal. SI Kids says "no bucket".

There's your ruling.
Good. There is certainly an error now.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 03:17pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
Good. There is certainly an error now.
Yep, in post #22.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BLUE for Kids Charity Sports Auction JimKirk Baseball 0 Fri Feb 22, 2008 12:34am
Casting Call for Girls Fastpitch Sports Movie Statethemovie Softball 19 Fri Jul 13, 2007 05:32pm
Sports Illustrated meets Ted Valentine Jimgolf Basketball 37 Mon Mar 12, 2007 04:08pm
sports illustrated article oc Basketball 2 Wed Jun 02, 2004 12:37pm
Simplified and Illustrated Nevadaref Basketball 0 Mon Nov 03, 2003 04:25am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1