![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
![]() I'm curious: you'd call a common foul here? If it's too hard to ignore, won't it be intentional or flagrant?
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Thanks for the response everyone. Just to clarify...
** B1 fouled A1 on a shot attempt, while B2 fouled A2 attempting to gain position down low ** The shooting foul was committed on our side, just inside the three point line, while the post foul was committed just inside the paint on the C side ** The ball was still live during the time of the foul because the try was still in question, however it was very difficult to ignore because A2 was actually knocked down by B2 (nothing more than a physical play) |
|
||||
Thanks for clarifying. Knocking A2 down in this case might mean you should call it and it might not. It really depends on how hard the bump or push was.
Think of it this way, take away the shooting foul and assume A1 gets his shot off clean and it goes in. If you think B2's foul would need to be called in that case, you should call it here. Cleaning up rough play sometimes means calling something out of the ordinary (like double fouls), and a false multiple here isn't a bad choice.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
These are the plays that can be handled by officials who are well-versed in the rules, but really get the lazy guys who don't study the book and just call the obvious in a great deal of trouble. You will have one of these goofy plays every few years. You can really distinguish yourself by handling them properly. People rarely remember the normal plays, but will certainly take notice when the wild and wacky happens. Therefore, they will also remember what you did. What really bothers me about this incident is what your more experienced partner did. You called a legitimate foul against B2 for pushing an opponent during a live ball while attempting to get rebounding position. Your partner was completely wrong to say that that foul could be nullified. He has no right whatsoever to change your calls. RULE 2, SECTION 6 OFFICIALS’ AUTHORITY No official has the authority to set aside or question decisions made by the other official(s) within the limits of their respective outlined duties. Quote:
First, in this particular situation when both fouls occur AFTER A1 has begun the act of shooting BOTH fouls MUST be penalized because they both occurred during a live ball, and there is NO rule that permits one of them to be ignored. It does still matter in which order the fouls were committed because the penalties must be administered in that same order. That is what is done on a false multiple or false double foul. a. The foul on A1 occurs first. -- Penalty administration: Count the goal if successful and award one FT with the lane cleared or awarded two or three FTs with the lane cleared if the try was an unsuccessful two or three point attempt. Now the penalty for the foul by B2 is assessed. (1) If team A is in the bonus then A2 is awarded either a 1-and-1 or 2FTs WITH THE PLAYERS OCCUPYING the lanes spaces and play continues as normal from the result of the FTs. (2) If team A is not yet in the bonus, then it will receive a throw-in from the nearest OOB spot to the foul by B2. b. The foul on A2 occurs first. -- Penalty administration: (1) If team A is in the bonus, then award A2 either 1-and-1 or 2FTs with the lane cleared. Now deal with the foul by B1 as if the foul by B2 didn't occur. Meaning count or don't count the basket as appropriate and award the proper number of FTs as normal. (2) If team A is not in the bonus, then penalty of awarding a throw-in for the first foul gets skipped. The personal foul is still charged to the offending individual. One needs to think of this situation in the same manner as a foul being committed which results in a throw-in, but then another foul is committed by the same team after the ball becomes live yet before the throw-in ends. The non-offending team wouldn't now get two throw-ins, right? You would simply forget about the first throw-in and move to the penalty for the 2nd foul, which may be bonus FTs or just another throw-in. So that is what needs to be done here. After charging a personal foul to B2, forget about it and handle the foul by B1 on A1 as normal. So line 'em up and shoot the proper number of FTs for the foul during the try. I'm not an advocate of only calling fouls that are "too hard to ignore." IMO knocking an opposing player to the ground is an illegal action that should not be ignored simply because there won't be a rebound. If you blew the whistle when observing the play, then you adjudged that the contact was severe enough to warrant a foul. So penalize it. ![]() So hit those books! ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|