View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 13, 2009, 01:46am
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss17 View Post
Need a little help with a situation that I went through recently:

During a high level AAU game (great tournament, BV division), we had a situation that I am almost certain we did not get correct.

I am the L when a shot from A1 goes up. As I am watching the post play, I notice that B2 shoves A1 to the ground, so as the ball is in the air, me and the C both blow our whistles. After the play was over, I notice the T with his hand in the air too, and I get confused. It turns out he had a foul on B1 during the jump shot (late whistle).

After gathering, the C, who was by far the most experienced out of the group (I am only in my second year) decided to wave off the foul by B2 and simply award A1 with two foul shots. The coach of A was upset that we did not call both fouls (judging by a pre game talk I had with him, it appeared that he was a referee himself, not certain though).

Anyway, what should the correct call have been? I can't imagine that we got it right, but I can't think off the top of my head what we should have called. The only thing I can possibly think of would be a false multiple foul, but I can't remember if that fits the definition, and I don't have my rule book in front of me (NFHS rules, FYI).

If we did screw it up, what should the result have been?? Two shots with lane cleared than ball taken out on the endline??

ss17:

If B2's foul occured at the same time as B1's foul, then by definition (NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's), you had a multiple foul, not a false multiple foul in your situation. I am assuming that B1's foul was from the C's side of the court, while B2's foul was from the T's side of the court and behind (from the L's view) of A1; therefore, the T held his foul signal but waited to see what you and the C had, and evidently was satisfied that 1) the two of you had a foul being committed against A1 and 2) you both agreed on the same player who committed the foul. Since the T only signaled a foul but did not signal who the foul was against, I do not see the reason for your conference. But I think you and your teammates handled well and did the correct thing.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. Good night all.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote