The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 08:32am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
That would all be correct if A2 was in the back court and the inbound was in the FC. In this case A2 left the FC and gained ball in FC position. landed in BC so therefore changed FC2BC status. In other words PC was established the minute A2 grabbed the ball. NOT when he landed.
ILMalti, there is a specific throw-in exception to this rule. Once you get hold of a NFHS rulebook you will see it. But you can go on-line and retrieve the NCAA rules book and it will have the same exception.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
ILMalti, there is a specific throw-in exception to this rule. Once you get hold of a NFHS rulebook you will see it. But you can go on-line and retrieve the NCAA rules book and it will have the same exception.
Come on, he's really sure about this.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 08:36am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
Come on, he's really sure about this.
I'm taking it easy on him b/c in another thread he asked how to get ahold of a US High School rules book. But once he gets one the gloves are coming off.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
Thank you Badnewsref
But I never asked for a rule book (you need to keep the facts straight).
I assume that this was a place for discussion not critism.
There are no gloves here but a earning for indepth understanding, The moderator approach is one I would suggest you look at.

If I offended you in anway by asking questions you have my appologies. Becasue someone sees things differntly is no reason to beliitle them

Kind regards
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 09:18am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
Official called the right call and here is teh reason

Good call by ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
That would all be correct if A2 was in the back court and the inbound was in the FC. In this case A2 left the FC and gained ball in FC position. landed in BC so therefore changed FC2BC status. In other words PC was established the minute A2 grabbed the ball. NOT when he landed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
If I offended you in anway by asking questions you have my appologies. Becasue someone sees things differntly is no reason to beliitle them

Kind regards
1) Where exactly did you ask questions? You didn't. You gave an incorrect rule interpretation. And when you were corrected, you didn't ask for a rule reference, you simply re-asserted the incorrect ruling. You were wrong and got called on it.

2) Where were you belittled? You were not. In fact, people said that they went out of their way not to give you a hard time because they thought you were fairly new and hadn't gotten a rulebook yet. Your treatment has been pretty standard.

When you can accept correction from knowledgeable colleagues, then you will improve. If you have a chip on your shoulder and think you can't be criticized for giving an obviously incorrect answer to a very basic question, then you won't learn much here.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 09:39am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
Thank you Badnewsref
But I never asked for a rule book (you need to keep the facts straight).
I assume that this was a place for discussion not critism.
There are no gloves here but a earning for indepth understanding, The moderator approach is one I would suggest you look at.

If I offended you in anway by asking questions you have my appologies. Becasue someone sees things differntly is no reason to beliitle them

Kind regards
So, do you have a rulebook then? Did you bother to look up the citation that was made a mere 7 minutes after the OP was made? You've got a lot a learn, young jedi.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 10:18am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
Your partner makes this (incorrect) call.
What do you do?
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 10:29am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
Your partner makes this (incorrect) call.
What do you do?
If I suspect that he kicked the call, I initiate the conversation and if necessary, gather info from him/her, and then provide my understanding of the rule and interpretation. I will leave it up to my P to change the call or not. If necessary, we could each talk to a coach to expedite communication.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 04:57pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
Your partner makes this (incorrect) call.
What do you do?
Have a very quick chat and give him the opportunity to go with an IW. I've done this, and before I could even get there he was calling for me. I think he saw me coming and it triggered something. When I got to him, he just confirmed that he knew he kicked it and he reversed it. No complaints.

If he refuses, move on and show him the book in the locker room. If he still insists, let it go.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 05:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
Thank you
I have a lot to learn....
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 12:56pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
Thank you Badnewsref
But I never asked for a rule book (you need to keep the facts straight).
I assume that this was a place for discussion not critism.
There are no gloves here but a earning for indepth understanding, The moderator approach is one I would suggest you look at.

If I offended you in anway by asking questions you have my appologies. Becasue someone sees things differntly is no reason to beliitle them

Kind regards
My bad, I confused you with another poster. But none the less, you were wrong on your rules interpretation in this case and it didn't appear by your responses that you took the time to look up the rule so I assumed you didn't have a rule book.

Also, this usually indicates someone is joking. But you won't find that in a rule book.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Thu Mar 12, 2009 at 07:51pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backcourt violation or not PP Basketball 2 Sat Dec 08, 2007 04:07pm
Backcourt Violation USC04alum Basketball 5 Thu Feb 09, 2006 01:37pm
Backcourt Violation? xxssmen Basketball 4 Thu Jun 03, 2004 02:12pm
Backcourt Violation? Sleeper Basketball 10 Mon Dec 09, 2002 04:06pm
Backcourt violation. Dennis Nicely Basketball 7 Mon Jan 15, 2001 11:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1