The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 06:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW OH
Posts: 117
backcourt violation?

I was watching a playoff game last night and wondered about a call. I assume that they were right since the official making the call has probably done more tournament games than I've done "regular" games, but wanted to ask.

Sit: team A is inbounding the ball in their FC but close to the division line. A1 passes the ball in, A2 jumps, catches it (while in the air) and lands in the BC. A2 took off from the FC. The official called a BC violation.

My first thought was that it's not a BC violation because you can go into the BC for a throwin, but then thought that it might fall into the you are where you were until you get where you're going philosophy. Help me understand, please.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 07:03am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdoug View Post
I was watching a playoff game last night and wondered about a call. I assume that they were right since the official making the call has probably done more tournament games than I've done "regular" games, but wanted to ask.

Sit: team A is inbounding the ball in their FC but close to the division line. A1 passes the ball in, A2 jumps, catches it (while in the air) and lands in the BC. A2 took off from the FC. The official called a BC violation.

My first thought was that it's not a BC violation because you can go into the BC for a throwin, but then thought that it might fall into the you are where you were until you get where you're going philosophy. Help me understand, please.
Fed:

You always are where you were until you get where you're going, if airborne.

However, this is not a violation because of an 'exception' to the backcourt rule. However, had A2 passed the ball to A3 who was in the BC, it would have been a violation.

Citation is 9-9-3 (Backcourt Violations):

A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.
__________________
Pope Francis

Last edited by JugglingReferee; Thu Mar 12, 2009 at 09:38am. Reason: Specify Fed
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 07:12am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
In other words, he kicked the call.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 08:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
Official called the right call and here is teh reason

a2 is in the FC when he jumps to catch the ball thrown in by A1 (regardless of where the throw in FC|BC"

as soon as A2 catches the ball you have PC/TC and the ball has FC status

When A2 lands in the BC he is considered to have been in FC and went to BC hence back court violation since PC/TC were established in the FC.


Good call by ref
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 08:05am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
You would be right if the rule stopped there.
However comma there is an exception written into the rule for this play, allowing a player to catch the ball while jumping from FC to BC as long as he lands with the ball rather than catching in the air and passing to a teammat in the BC. It applies to throwins, jump balls, and defensive players.

The official kicked the call. This isn't one I see kicked that much, either, it's pretty basic. I'm surprised the coach wasn't going nuts.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 08:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
Official called the right call and here is teh reason

a2 is in the FC when he jumps to catch the ball thrown in by A1 (regardless of where the throw in FC|BC"

as soon as A2 catches the ball you have PC/TC and the ball has FC status

When A2 lands in the BC he is considered to have been in FC and went to BC hence back court violation since PC/TC were established in the FC.


Good call by ref
All that is correct. Had this been a pass from inbounds it would be a violation. Had this been all the rule states, it would be a violation.

But, in the OP it was a throw-in pass, and the rule contains an "exception" for the first player to touch the throw-in pass (as well as exceptions fro defense and during a jump ball). Because of this exception, the play was (should have been) legal (assuming the play happened as described and that A2 was the first to touch the pass).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 08:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
That would all be correct if A2 was in the back court and the inbound was in the FC. In this case A2 left the FC and gained ball in FC position. landed in BC so therefore changed FC2BC status. In other words PC was established the minute A2 grabbed the ball. NOT when he landed.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdoug View Post
I was watching a playoff game last night and wondered about a call. I assume that they were right since the official making the call has probably done more tournament games than I've done "regular" games, but wanted to ask.

Sit: team A is inbounding the ball in their FC but close to the division line. A1 passes the ball in, A2 jumps, catches it (while in the air) and lands in the BC. A2 took off from the FC. The official called a BC violation.

My first thought was that it's not a BC violation because you can go into the BC for a throwin, but then thought that it might fall into the you are where you were until you get where you're going philosophy. Help me understand, please.
Of course, IF the defender tipped the ball BEFORE A2 caught the ball as in the OP, the official would have been correct. The Throw-in (and its exception) ENDED when the ball was tipped. Just another possibility.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backcourt violation or not PP Basketball 2 Sat Dec 08, 2007 04:07pm
Backcourt Violation USC04alum Basketball 5 Thu Feb 09, 2006 01:37pm
Backcourt Violation? xxssmen Basketball 4 Thu Jun 03, 2004 02:12pm
Backcourt Violation? Sleeper Basketball 10 Mon Dec 09, 2002 04:06pm
Backcourt violation. Dennis Nicely Basketball 7 Mon Jan 15, 2001 11:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1