The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 06, 2009, 12:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
If the sequence was W32 OB, then W32 touches the ball while OB, black gets the throw-in and the arrow is set when the ball is at black's disposal for the throw-in.
No, it isn't. When W32 attains player control (just prior to stepping on the sideline), then the ball would be given to Black for the violation of stepping out of bounds. Further, since White controlled the ball BEFORE stepping out of bounds, the AP arrow would be set AS SOON AS WHITE GAINED CONTROL -- pointing in the direction of Black.

My question is would you give Black the arrow based on what you have seen concerning White's control of the ball (if he had either stepped out of bounds or been guilty of a travel prior to tossing the ball into play)?

If so, then a BC violation would be correct if he stayed in bounds. If not, the official probably got this one right.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation or not? KGB Basketball 15 Thu Nov 22, 2007 08:09pm
Backcourt Violation? New2AZref Basketball 14 Mon May 01, 2006 10:51pm
Backcourt Violation USC04alum Basketball 5 Thu Feb 09, 2006 01:37pm
Backcourt violation? BADAMFS Basketball 2 Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:08am
Backcourt violation. Dennis Nicely Basketball 7 Mon Jan 15, 2001 11:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1