The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 10:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Stumped

Coach asked a pretty good question which my partner and I were unable to answer with any conviction. before our game he said he had an inbounds where his girl A2 is standing three feet to the right of A1 who is inbounding, after A1 inbounds to A3, she takes a one or two steps to her right as she enters the court to use A2 as a screen. I looked over rule 9 on violations and found nothing.

My gut feeling is it's a violation as the intent is to deceive the defender before she is legally on the court, it's comparable to running out of bounds to go around a screen, or sneeking down the sideline out of bounds to avoid the opposition. Of course you could say when inbounding, using a ball fake on defender is used for deception also.

I'm thinking there is language somewhere to immmediately returning to the court, yet in the most circuitous manner is not mentioned.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 11:17am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I wish they'd make this a violation, but Bob's right.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Technical foul.
The horse is out of the barn.........I did mean to say tech.

Is there a casebook on this or rule citing?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 69
If it is not a spot throw in, isn't team A allowed to have more than one person OOB?

Say then that A1 and A2 enter at the same time.... What would be wrong with this?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by LocDog249 View Post
If it is not a spot throw in, isn't team A allowed to have more than one person OOB?

Say then that A1 and A2 enter at the same time.... What would be wrong with this?
Stick to the thread..........
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
Stick to the thread..........
How am I off topic? If A2 is three feet to the right of A1 who is inbounding and therefore OOB, isn't A2 also OOB?

If A2 is on the court, then I misread the question. I was picturing this as 2 players OOB coming onto the court at the same time, and one using the other as a pick as they return together. (obviously this would not apply if it were a spot throw-in, but that was not made clear)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 12:18pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by LocDog249 View Post
If it is not a spot throw in, isn't team A allowed to have more than one person OOB?

Say then that A1 and A2 enter at the same time.... What would be wrong with this?
Once the ball is released for the throwin pass, all players who are legally OOB must return immediately to the playing court.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Once the ball is released for the throwin pass, all players who are legally OOB must return immediately to the playing court.
I suppose then it would fall on us to determine whether the entry was immediate. The 'letter of the law' might be the shortest route. That said, someone's two steps might be more 'immediate' than someone's one step.

What if player was backed up 8-10 feet within 3 foot boundary and after in bounding, ball was tipped going at a 90% degree angle to inbounder and he makes a diagonal cut to go where the ball is headed. The shortest route for reentry would be straight ahead.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
C'mon guys, 1 or 2 steps.

I've got nothing.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 12:02pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
C'mon guys, 1 or 2 steps.

I've got nothing.
Fair enough. You can't call a violation, because A1 was OOB for an authorized reason. The only rule you could invoke here would be the T. But I'd consider 1 or 2 steps to be close enough to directly onto the court.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
C'mon guys, 1 or 2 steps.

I've got nothing.

I'm with you on this, BBR, failed in description to say almost within three feet boundary allowance given to inbounder. A definite 'had to be there situation.'

Any blatant deception entering would certainly warrant a T.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
A2 is standing three feet to the right of A1 who is inbounding
This initially made it sound to me like both players were OOB. I know now that they were not.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by LocDog249 View Post
This initially made it sound to me like both players were OOB. I know now that they were not.
Sorry, I didn't make it clear enough, edited OP.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 01:24pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Price does not include taxes.

10-3-2: A player shall not: Purposely and/or deceitfully delay returning after legally being out of bounds.

10.3.2 SITUATION A: A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in. A1 completes the throw-in to A2 and then purposefully delays his/her return by taking four or five steps along the end line prior to coming inbounds behind a screen set by A3 and A4. A1 gets a return pass from A2 and takes an unchallenged try for goal. RULING: A1 is charged with a technical foul for purposefully delaying his/her return to the court following the throw-in. A1’s movement out of bounds along the end line was to take advantage of the screen and return to the court in a more advantageous position.

Original post states, "one or two steps", while the casebook play states, "four or five steps". Is this a significant difference?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exam question: Please help I'm stumped. Bchill24 Basketball 4 Mon Nov 12, 2007 12:25pm
Stumped PABlue Baseball 4 Sun Mar 05, 2006 04:36pm
Im Stumped IURef Baseball 7 Sat Jun 25, 2005 01:57am
Wife Stumped Me...How 'bout You? drothamel Basketball 13 Fri Mar 25, 2005 12:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1