The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Stumped (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51821-stumped.html)

fullor30 Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:39am

Stumped
 
Coach asked a pretty good question which my partner and I were unable to answer with any conviction. before our game he said he had an inbounds where his girl A2 is standing three feet to the right of A1 who is inbounding, after A1 inbounds to A3, she takes a one or two steps to her right as she enters the court to use A2 as a screen. I looked over rule 9 on violations and found nothing.

My gut feeling is it's a violation as the intent is to deceive the defender before she is legally on the court, it's comparable to running out of bounds to go around a screen, or sneeking down the sideline out of bounds to avoid the opposition. Of course you could say when inbounding, using a ball fake on defender is used for deception also.

I'm thinking there is language somewhere to immmediately returning to the court, yet in the most circuitous manner is not mentioned.

bob jenkins Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:06am

Technical foul.

Adam Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:17am

I wish they'd make this a violation, but Bob's right.

fullor30 Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 582039)
Technical foul.

The horse is out of the barn.........I did mean to say tech.

Is there a casebook on this or rule citing?

LocDog249 Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:54am

If it is not a spot throw in, isn't team A allowed to have more than one person OOB?

Say then that A1 and A2 enter at the same time.... What would be wrong with this?

BktBallRef Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:56am

C'mon guys, 1 or 2 steps.

I've got nothing.

Adam Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 582047)
C'mon guys, 1 or 2 steps.

I've got nothing.

Fair enough. You can't call a violation, because A1 was OOB for an authorized reason. The only rule you could invoke here would be the T. But I'd consider 1 or 2 steps to be close enough to directly onto the court.

fullor30 Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LocDog249 (Post 582046)
If it is not a spot throw in, isn't team A allowed to have more than one person OOB?

Say then that A1 and A2 enter at the same time.... What would be wrong with this?

Stick to the thread..........

Adam Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LocDog249 (Post 582046)
If it is not a spot throw in, isn't team A allowed to have more than one person OOB?

Say then that A1 and A2 enter at the same time.... What would be wrong with this?

Once the ball is released for the throwin pass, all players who are legally OOB must return immediately to the playing court.

fullor30 Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 582047)
C'mon guys, 1 or 2 steps.

I've got nothing.


I'm with you on this, BBR, failed in description to say almost within three feet boundary allowance given to inbounder. A definite 'had to be there situation.'

Any blatant deception entering would certainly warrant a T.

LocDog249 Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 582052)
Stick to the thread..........

How am I off topic? If A2 is three feet to the right of A1 who is inbounding and therefore OOB, isn't A2 also OOB?

If A2 is on the court, then I misread the question. I was picturing this as 2 players OOB coming onto the court at the same time, and one using the other as a pick as they return together. (obviously this would not apply if it were a spot throw-in, but that was not made clear)

Adam Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:26pm

A2 is on the court in the OP; how does A2 set a legal screen for A1 otherwise?

fullor30 Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 582054)
Once the ball is released for the throwin pass, all players who are legally OOB must return immediately to the playing court.

I suppose then it would fall on us to determine whether the entry was immediate. The 'letter of the law' might be the shortest route. That said, someone's two steps might be more 'immediate' than someone's one step.

What if player was backed up 8-10 feet within 3 foot boundary and after in bounding, ball was tipped going at a 90% degree angle to inbounder and he makes a diagonal cut to go where the ball is headed. The shortest route for reentry would be straight ahead.

LocDog249 Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:30pm

If they enter the court at the same time, then A1 takes their 1 or 2 steps to go around A2 who just came onto the court also.

fullor30 Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LocDog249 (Post 582056)
How am I off topic? If A2 is three feet to the right of A1 who is inbounding and therefore OOB, isn't A2 also OOB?

If A2 is on the court, then I misread the question. I was picturing this as 2 players OOB coming onto the court at the same time, and one using the other as a pick as they return together. (obviously this would not apply if it were a spot throw-in, but that was not made clear)

Yes, A2 is on the court.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1