![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Correct. Once that foot came up, the ball now has FC status. When the foot re-touched the BC, the ball then had BC status: violation.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Correct. At that point, both she and the ball have established themselves in the FC. Think of another situation: I'm standing near a sideline. I hold the ball over the line a good 2-3 feet. That doesn't mean the ball is OOB...
|
|
|||
BACKCOURT – FRONTCOURT – BALL LOCATION
4.4.1 SITUATION: As Team A is advancing the ball from its backcourt toward its frontcourt, A1 passes the ball to A2. A2 catches the ball while both feet are on the floor – with one foot on either side of the division line. In this situation, either foot may be the pivot foot. (a) A2 lifts the foot which is in the backcourt and then puts it back on the floor in the backcourt; or (b) A2 lifts the foot which is in the frontcourt, pivots and puts it on the floor in the backcourt. RULING: In (a), it is a backcourt violation. When A2, while holding the ball, lifts the foot which was in the backcourt, the ball is now in the frontcourt. When A2's foot then touches in the backcourt, it is a violation. In (b), when A2 lifts the foot which is in the frontcourt and places it down in the backcourt, the location of the ball has not changed. The ball is still in the backcourt and no violation has occurred. (4-35-2) |
|
|||
So you technically need all 3 points to be considered in the front court only as a dribbler correct? If you pick up the ball you only need the one foot to have front court status while stratteling the division line.
|
|
|||
Quote:
If not dribbling, once you have something in the frontcount and NOTHING in the backcourt, you are considered to be in the front court. -Josh |
|
|||
Quote:
If you pick up the ball, then the status of the ball follow player location. If any part of the player is touching the BC, the ball, while being held (such as picking up a dribble, or receiving a pass), is also in the BC. If NO parts of a player are in his/her BC, AND at least 1 part is in the FC, then the ball has FC status.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
The backcourt foot maintains BC status while in contact with the BC (therefore so does player/ball location remain BC), until the BC foot is lifted. At this point FC status occurs. You are where you where, until you get where you are going.
__________________
"Stay in the game!" |
|
|||
You are where you are, until you get where you're going.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
Thanks grunewar... it didn't seem quite right when I typed it, but I let her fly and was prudently reproached.
![]()
__________________
"Stay in the game!" |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Over the back, ON the back RM article | Nevadaref | Basketball | 32 | Fri Feb 13, 2009 10:26pm |
Over and back | Emjaykay | Basketball | 7 | Wed Mar 31, 2004 09:51pm |
Over and Back?? | GregAlan | Basketball | 4 | Mon Mar 15, 2004 07:56pm |
Over and Back | RefSouthAlb | Basketball | 15 | Mon Mar 08, 2004 02:26pm |
look back | MartyG | Softball | 10 | Mon Nov 25, 2002 10:48am |