The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Feb 14, 2009, 05:14pm
Official Forum Member

Defensive foul?

I'm very new at basketball i'm not really sure about all the rules yet but I need something clarified. My question is it legal to block your opponent by constantly bumping him or slamming him with your body? Whenever I have the ball, my bro would constantly bump me with his body and his body is always physically contacting me, preventing me from moving. Also it legal to try to slap the ball out of my hand? That's all thanks.
Old Sat Feb 14, 2009, 05:43pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by kreossjmw View Post
I'm very new at basketball i'm not really sure about all the rules yet but I need something clarified. My question is it legal to block your opponent by constantly bumping him or slamming him with your body? Whenever I have the ball, my bro would constantly bump me with his body and his body is always physically contacting me, preventing me from moving. Also it legal to try to slap the ball out of my hand? That's all thanks.

1) If he has legal guarding position, then he may move to maintain it. He may not move "forward" into you. That said, it sounds as if yuou are playing in your driveway or the local park. Learn to deal with the contact. IT will make you a better player.

2) Of course he can try to slap the ball out of your hand.
Old Sat Feb 14, 2009, 05:47pm
Official Forum Member