![]() |
|
|
|||
When, geometrically, do you know you have BI?
Standard sizes (high school) all the way around.
Saw this tonight. A1 drives in, puts ball off of the backboard, defender pins ball to backboard, just inside the smaller painted rectangle above the rim. No call from the officials, but I'm thinking that their has to be a line within that rectangle where if the ball is touching the backboard inside of that boundary that part of the ball has to be over the cylinder. Is there a rule of thumb for this? Here is a crappy image showing the rectangle, er, "shooter's square". ![]()
__________________
-- #thereferee99 Last edited by referee99; Wed Feb 04, 2009 at 12:34am. |
|
|||
Not in high school.
It was unclear if the ball was on its downward flight. I don't think it was, but lets say it wasn't.
__________________
-- #thereferee99 |
|
|||
You have to have 3 things to have Goaltending.
If any of these things are not present, then you do not have a violation. It is possible that one of these things was not present and the officials passed on the play. The backboard or the ball touching the backboard has nothing to do with this call the high school level. Only at the college level is the backboard a factor. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
I'm talking about Basket Interference.
Part of the basketball may have been in the imaginary cylinder with the basket as its base. Wanting to know where that area is on the back board. Recently Andris Biedrinch of the Warriors was called for a violation when he knocked the ball off the flange during live action. In NBA it was goaltending (i think) but would have been basket interference in HS. If the ball is contacting the backboard directly behind the basket part of the basketball MUST be in the cylinder, given the size of the ball. At some point further away from the center of the backboard this must also be true. How far out can you go and have an automatic, provable by geometry basket interference?
__________________
-- #thereferee99 Last edited by referee99; Wed Feb 04, 2009 at 12:48am. |
|
|||
Rim diameter is 18", Ball diameter is 9". The square in question is 18" tall and 24" wide. So once about 1/4 of the ball is within the square then it has penetrated the imaginary cylinder above the basket. So yes by geometry BI could be called it the ball is contacted after the referee observes that a 1/4 or more of the ball is inside the square.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|