Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99
Rut, if the ball was pinned by the defender on the gaudy red X in the image in the OP, can we agree that the defender may be touching the ball while the ball was in the imaginary cylinder with the basket as its base?
|
If the touching was not in the cylinder, where the ball touches the backboard might not be relevant.
As I said, I think you are taking a judgment call and trying to make a one size fits all application. If the ball is not in the cylinder, it is not BI. If you think it is in the cylinder (and certain things are present), then call a violation. You will find that at full speed you are not going to get a simple judgment based on a marking. If the ball hits the backboard does not mean it was touched at the very same spot.
Peace