![]() |
|
|
|||
If Budjones5 can give us an explanation as to why he thinks the B player entered the lane to goaltend the ball, we would have the answer if it is flagrant or not. had there been any recent situations on the court that would cause retaliation?
But on the basis of what has been said, I believe that it was taunting, and that is flagrant. Blow him out of the game!!!! |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I am going to join the discussion because I think that the thread is jumping around all over the place and not following a logical sequence with regard to the Play; and based upon the description of the play , I am going to state that we are discussing a game played using NFHS Rules.
The rules that are germane to our discussion are: Rule 4: Definitions. R4-S6: Definition of basket interference. R4-S19-A4: Definition of a flagrant foul. R4-S22: Definition of goaltending. Rule 9: Violations and Their Penalties. R9-S11: Basket interference is a violation. R9-S12: Goaltending is a violation. Penalties for Sections 11 and 12: Penalty 1. Rule 10: Technical Fouls. R10-S3-A9: Goaltending a free throw is a technical foul. Goaltending a free throw is, I think, the only infraction of the rules that, by definition, is both a violation (R4-S46-A3: Type 3, free throw violations) and a foul (technical foul by a player) that occur simultaneously. How can that statement be made one asks? Violations are infractions of the rules which are penalized but not charged; fouls are infractions of the rules which are penalized and charged. The penalties for violations can include the offended team being awarded a throw-in, a substitute free throw, or points awarded, but nobody from the offending team (player, bench personnel, or team) is charged (See R4-S47: delay of game exceptions.) with committing the infraction in the Scorebook. The penalty for fouls can be the offended team being awarded a throw-in, free throws, or both and the offending team (player, bench personnel, or team) is charged in the Scorebook. When B1 entered the free throw lane before the free throw attempt had touched the backboard or basket rim, he committed a delayed dead ball free throw violation. He then proceeded to commit a goaltending violation (which causes the ball to become dead) which was also a technical foul. Points are awarded for the goaltending violation and B1 is charged with a TF for goaltending a free throw. R10-S3-A9 is quite specific in that it does not consider goaltending a free throw a flagrant foul. The question is: How do we, as officials, handle a situation such as this one? I will admit that I do not know how I would handle this situation. I would love to hang a flagrant TF on B1, and I do feel BudJones05 pain on this one, but based upon how the definitions are currently written it would be difficult by rule. If B1 went up to swat A1's field goal attempt away and the ball landed in the third row, would we charge B1 with a flagrant TF for unsportsmanlike conduct? While this play is not quite the same as Bud's play, I do not think so. That's my two cents for today. GO STEELERS!!! BEAT THE CARDINALS!!! MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
In the 2002-03 Basketball Rules Interpretations, you will find that #20 is the exact same play. SITUATION 20:B1 commits goaltending on A1's final free throw attempt. RULING: Score the free throw by A1 and charge B1 with a technical foul. Team A gets two free throws for the technical foul; play is resumed with a throw-in at the division line opposite the scorers table. Rules rulz. |
|
|||
Quote:
JR: I think you misunderstood me. I don't have a problem with the TF, that is a given, I am going to call it. Whether I am going to rule it a flagrant TF is my delemma. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
You may want to check out rule 10-3-7(c) and the PENALTY for it. If you issue a flagrant "T" every time you call "taunting", you're mis-interpreting the rule. To call a technical foul for "taunting" is a judgment call always. To say that the act is severe enough to justify a flagrant technical foul is a whole 'nother matter and is another judgment call. In this particular situation, I wouldn't dream of ever calling a flagrant "T" unless a few mo-fo's went along with the blocked FT. |
|
|||
Am I Correct ??? I'm Sure That Someone Will Corrrect Me If I'm Wrong ...
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
That's the proper understanding, Billy.
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() By NFHS rules, you're correct. No argument there. But if I hit you for a T for taunting, you are ejected under NCHSAA rules. Other states may have similiar rules.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|