The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 09:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Correctable Error Situation....First Part...

Situation: A1 drives to the basket and is fouled by B1 before taking a shot. Scorer indicates that the foul is the 6th team foul on B for the half. A1 is given the ball under Team A's basket. A2 scores on the inbounds play. As soon as the ball goes through the basket, the horn sounds. The home team scorer had failed to count a technical foul on B4 during the quarter. Therefore, the foul was the 7th team foul.

Realizing that a correctable error situation has presented itself (2-10-1a):
Rule 2
SECTION 10 CORRECTABLE ERRORS
ART. 1 . . . Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in:
a. Failure to award a merited free throw.
b. Awarding an unmerited free throw.
c. Permitting a wrong player to attempt a free throw.
d. Attempting a free throw at the wrong basket.
e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

The officials realize the time to be right via 2-10-2:
ART. 2 . . . In order to correct any of the officials' errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.

The officials award A1 a 1 and 1 free throw situation.

A1 makes the first free throw, but misses the second. A2 gets the rebound and scores the basket.

Was this situation handled correctly?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 09:59pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
The game was interrupted with a change of possession, so we go back to that point.

A1 should have shot the 1+1 with the lane and the subsequent throw-in an endline running throw-in for B.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 10:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
The game was interrupted with a change of possession, so we go back to that point.

A1 should have shot the 1+1 with the lane cleared and the subsequent throw-in an endline running throw-in for B.
I agree with the above

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 350
Yup....JR nailed it.
__________________
If it's a foul on that end, IT'S GOTTA BE A FOUL ON THIS END!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 11:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
Yep, yep. Good job Jug (and Josh for fixing the typo).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 11:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Correctable Error Situation....Second Part...

OK, the handling of the free throws error was just to add an extra step. I have a real concern with Correctable Errors. In the scenario that I just posed, Team A gained a tremendous advantage due to the Correctable Error which has always seemed to me to be unfair.

If A1 is fouled resulting in a common foul, Team A would be entitled to EITHER:
A. the ball -- if the foul would have been the 1st to 6th Team B committed in the half OR
B. a 1+1 FT situation for A1 -- if the foul would have been the 7th to 9th Team B committed in the half OR
C. a 2 shot situation for A1 -- if the foul would have been the 10th or more committed by Team B in the half.

In the case where the scorer's table has blundered, Team A can get BOTH A. AND B. above. This seems to be an unfair outcome.

I can see how one could conclude that Team A is entitled to FTs IF they failed to score on the subsequent possession, BUT, once the team has scored on that possession, it would seem that the error should no longer be correctable since the team already received the full benefit of the foul.

Thoughts???
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2009, 12:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
OK, the handling of the free throws error was just to add an extra step. I have a real concern with Correctable Errors. In the scenario that I just posed, Team A gained a tremendous advantage due to the Correctable Error which has always seemed to me to be unfair.

If A1 is fouled resulting in a common foul, Team A would be entitled to EITHER:
A. the ball -- if the foul would have been the 1st to 6th Team B committed in the half OR
B. a 1+1 FT situation for A1 -- if the foul would have been the 7th to 9th Team B committed in the half OR
C. a 2 shot situation for A1 -- if the foul would have been the 10th or more committed by Team B in the half.

In the case where the scorer's table has blundered, Team A can get BOTH A. AND B. above. This seems to be an unfair outcome.

I can see how one could conclude that Team A is entitled to FTs IF they failed to score on the subsequent possession, BUT, once the team has scored on that possession, it would seem that the error should no longer be correctable since the team already received the full benefit of the foul.

Thoughts???
The philosophy of the CE rule has been debated many times. Either BktBallRef or Bob Jenkins put it very elegantly. The comment was that the rule is not designed to be fair. It is designed such that each team has an incentive to prevent the error from occurring and get the situation right in the first place. Otherwise, what at first looks to be a potential benefit to their team may well come back to hurt them later. That can clearly be seen in the situation which you have posed.

The team which committed the technical foul earlier should have pointed out to the officials that this foul was incorrectly not being counted as a team foul. There was significant time to do this prior to the 7th team foul of the half being committed. Instead it is possible that this team thought, "Oh good, they aren't counting the T as a team foul. That's good for us." However, later it came back to cost them.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2009, 07:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
OK, the handling of the free throws error was just to add an extra step. I have a real concern with Correctable Errors. In the scenario that I just posed, Team A gained a tremendous advantage due to the Correctable Error which has always seemed to me to be unfair.

If A1 is fouled resulting in a common foul, Team A would be entitled to EITHER:
A. the ball -- if the foul would have been the 1st to 6th Team B committed in the half OR
B. a 1+1 FT situation for A1 -- if the foul would have been the 7th to 9th Team B committed in the half OR
C. a 2 shot situation for A1 -- if the foul would have been the 10th or more committed by Team B in the half.

In the case where the scorer's table has blundered, Team A can get BOTH A. AND B. above. This seems to be an unfair outcome.

I can see how one could conclude that Team A is entitled to FTs IF they failed to score on the subsequent possession, BUT, once the team has scored on that possession, it would seem that the error should no longer be correctable since the team already received the full benefit of the foul.

Thoughts???
That's exactly what the FIBA rule says on this case: if the team which should have been credited the free throws scores, the error is ignored (44.3.2).

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 11:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Situation: A1 drives to the basket and is fouled by B1 before taking a shot. Scorer indicates that the foul is the 6th team foul on B for the half. A1 is given the ball under Team A's basket. A2 scores on the inbounds play. As soon as the ball goes through the basket, the horn sounds. The home team scorer had failed to count a technical foul on B4 during the quarter. Therefore, the foul was the 7th team foul.
That basket stays on the board, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2009, 12:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
That basket stays on the board, correct?
Yes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable Error FT Situation reddevil19 Basketball 10 Fri Jan 25, 2008 09:56am
Correctable error situation VaCoach Basketball 2 Sat Nov 17, 2007 06:37pm
Correctable Error Situation eckert Basketball 2 Fri Dec 09, 2005 11:38am
Another correctable error situation... thumpferee Basketball 9 Mon Feb 09, 2004 09:37am
Correctable error situation? mrsref Basketball 6 Mon Jan 31, 2000 11:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1