![]() |
|
|
|||
Indirect Technicals
Quote:
When a player fouls out he becomes bench personell, in Ct anyway!! |
|
||||
Quote:
Where are you getting the three indirects here? The first two techs were on players, not the bench. The 2nd one happened to be the player's fifth foul, but this does not get assigned to the HC. The third one would be an indirect, but that's it. How does the coach get DQ'd here?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
In through the nose, out through the mouth...
Quote:
I've actually done this very procedure in a adult rec league, flag foul, he disagreed, T, T ,T - see ya in a couple of weeks. Sometimes you just have to show 'em who's in charge. |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
If you used that procedure in an adult rec league, you screwed the coach with your failure to know the appropriate and applicable rule. If you're gonna show 'em who's in charge, it's not a bad idea to learn the rules first. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Mon Jan 26, 2009 at 04:05pm. |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Clearly, I shouldn't post anything, I should just read and learn from you masters. I was just trying to make a point that as officiating is my avocation, that a frustrated athlete should in no way be able to disrespect me as a person or official. And to call me out for "If you're gonna show 'em who's in charge, it's not a bad idea to learn the rules first." is a little harsh. I've been involved in basketball for 40 years, 20 as an official. I know we try to get it right but lighten up a little. This forum will not hear from me again. ![]() Good luck! |
|
|||
Quote:
so you have two technicals on players and a bench technical which equals one indirect on the coach even if you whacked the kid twice that would still only be two indirect on the coach and it requires three indirect or combination of two and a direct to eject the coach.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
|
|||
Quote:
Suppref: I do not know to which IAABO Board you belong (I don't have either my H.S. or College IABBO Handbooks in front of me to look up what Board covers Norwalk), but if I were you I would start studying the rule book and the Refresher Exam. I know that there are questions on the Refresher Exam (because I am on the IAABO Rules Examination Committee) that deal with when a disqualified player becomes bench personnel. So, my charge to you is to tell me Forum when does a DQ'ed player becomes bench personnel? MTD, Sr. P.S. Suppref, I just checked the IAABO website. Norwalk, is in Board #9, and Board #9's Intepreter/Trainer is Lou Filippetti, and Lou is a personal friend of mine, so you had better have the correct answer for the Forum.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Mon Jan 26, 2009 at 11:55pm. Reason: P.S. added. |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
At the risk of repetition, keep in mind that the player isn't DQed until the coach is notified. If you call what amounts to a fifth foul (or a flagrant, or second T), the player is not DQed until you notify the coach. So don't think that you can't make another appropriate call just because you know its his fifth foul (or whatever).
Quote:
Your opinion about the coach's relationship to his or her players is relevant to a discussion, but not to a ruling. The rule itself, already stated, is clear. I actually think you are on to something: a DQ'd player (and players are always DQed and not ejected, regardless of the offense) shouldn't get a free verbal shot at the officials before the coach is notified. Yes, a T would give them 2 shots, but with free throw shooting these days... Anyway, I'd support a change to make a coach more responsible for his soon to be DQed players still on the floor. But for now, we work the rule as written. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Player Carelessly but Unitnentionally Injures Official | Blue37 | Football | 17 | Wed Aug 29, 2007 07:39pm |
fielder pushes runner off of the bag | ggk | Baseball | 11 | Tue Jun 06, 2006 01:29am |
Player physically threatens an official.... | SeanWorrall | Basketball | 6 | Fri Mar 25, 2005 10:07am |
linebacker pushes linemen | jeffb | Football | 4 | Tue Oct 19, 2004 12:19am |
Player turned official | OverAndBack | Basketball | 19 | Tue May 25, 2004 08:45pm |