The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Jan 22, 2009, 09:02am
Official Forum Member

Out of Bounds?

After my post yesterday where I inadvertently put the neutral zone measurements 12 inches instead of the lane size 36 inches and was informed if I stick around I would be educated. Since I have been officiating for many years and have the thick skin to prove it. I decided I would come back and post another question to the basketball gods.

Situation: A1 trying to save the ball from going out of bounds dive and bats the ball back in play. After tapping the ball A1 slides out of bounds, then gets up and come back inbounds both feet established, then he pick ups the ball and starts to dribble.

Do you have a violation if so where do you find it in the book.

I see two references in the book but am hard press to say either applies.

9-3 Art. 1 ... NOTE: The Dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she in not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.

9-3 Art. 3 ... A player shall not leave the floor for an unauthorized reason.
Old Thu Jan 22, 2009, 09:13am
Official Forum Member