![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Under FED rules, the defender is allowed to contact the ball once it's been released. 9-2-10. That said, I'm "sure" the rule assumes the "normal" throw-in scenario -- The inbounder is OOB and all defensive players are inbounds. And, while I wouldn't penalize the defense just foe being OOB (since s/he went out legally), I don't think the intent is to allow the player to "take advantage" of that situation. So, I could perhaps see a delay warning. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Agreed, my thoughts until I read your post. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I know that there have been several other "delaying" situations in which we have determined that a delay-of-game warning is not appropriate -- for example, the case of the FT in which the defensive team does not occupy the first positions, etc. How can we justify a DOG warning in this case? |
|
|||
|
I'm not Bob. But here's my guess about his answer: a DOG warning is appropriate when the defense crosses the plane of the end line. Ordinarily, a player out of bounds after a layup would not warrant it. But, I surmise, Bob is thinking the present situation would warrant more than just an OOB call.
I agree. Think of it this way: by the defender making this play, he puts the other team at a disadvantage. On the initial throw-in, they could run the end line. After OOB it's a spot throw-in.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
True. Team B lost the end line run, but I am asking for the rule/case that allows us to give a DOG warning in this case. Other than committing a violation, A1 does not seem to have broken any rule. He legally left the court. He was attempting to quickly get back onto the court. Then, after the ball left the inbounder's hand, he batted the ball. Unfortunately, he had not regained status inbounds, but I am struggling to find a rule/case that indicates a DOG warning, here.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() Not to nit-pick, just so the newer officials have all the criteria. |
|
|||
|
Only IF the defense reaches across the line BEFORE the ball is released. The player made no play on the ball while returning to the court UNTIL the ball was released. At that point, contact with the ball (by a player on the court defending the inbounder) through the plane is legal, correct?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
DOG could be justified, but it would be one of those HTBT things. If A1 quickly moved in front of B5 and never went in-bounds, then I would have DOG because A1 is entirely over the line. If A1 did all of this from behind (slapping the ball OOB), then DOG would not be justified because B5 would not have been impeded. Think advantage/disadvantage here.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Any similar case plays out there?? |
|
|||
|
This might be a stretch, but couldn't we rule that the defensive team violated during the throw-in? Therefore, team A would maintain the right to run the endline (similar to a kick). The ball was never legally touched.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
But, if we take the (very slow developing play) where A1 crosses the line, then B1 releases the ball, then A1 makes contact with the ball -- it's clearly a DOG warning. So, while I'd give A1 some slack for being OOB when the throw-in starts, I think A1 might lose that slack if s/he then gains an advantage from it -- namely contacting the ball. It's kind of a "delayed violation / warning." I think it's really a 2-3 situation -- but I could see the NFHS coming out with an interp that makes it a DOG. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Throw In after Made Basket | actuary77 | Basketball | 15 | Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:25pm |
| Anything happening in Cleveland? | lrpalmer3 | Basketball | 1 | Fri May 25, 2007 11:34am |
| Throw In After a Basket | BeenThereBefore | Basketball | 16 | Sun Oct 30, 2005 06:38pm |
| Throw in after basket | tjchamp | Basketball | 6 | Thu Jan 15, 2004 12:53pm |
| Throw-In after made basket | kschau | Basketball | 1 | Sat Jan 20, 2001 11:10am |