The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by agr8zebra View Post
I think we would need to know more the situation, But if you thought it should be assessed as a IntFoul, I would come up with the T 1st, not sure I would ever even give the INTFOUL signal, but that is just me. The important thing is to communicate it is a T, and such activity need not need to occur.
It is one or the other, but not both...sounds like it was dead ball so it is a tech, if the ball is at the disposal of the thrower when it happens and you judge it to be intentional contact then it is an intentional foul, but you shouldn't signal both...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 03:36pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
It is one or the other, but not both...sounds like it was dead ball so it is a tech, if the ball is at the disposal of the thrower when it happens and you judge it to be intentional contact then it is an intentional foul, but you shouldn't signal both...
It is both if the ball is dead. You're right that you don't signal both; signal the tech since that's the most important part of the definition.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
It is both if the ball is dead. You're right that you don't signal both; signal the tech since that's the most important part of the definition.
Help me out here, looking at page 71 of current fed rule book, the technical foul summary - where do we see "intentional technical"?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 03:47pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
Help me out here, looking at page 71 of current fed rule book, the technical foul summary - where do we see "intentional technical"?
It's not there because the penalties don't differ. The reference is already posted for you above, in rule 4-19.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 03:47pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
Help me out here, looking at page 71 of current fed rule book, the technical foul summary - where do we see "intentional technical"?
Try the Rule 4-19
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 03:37pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
It is one or the other, but not both...sounds like it was dead ball so it is a tech, if the ball is at the disposal of the thrower when it happens and you judge it to be intentional contact then it is an intentional foul, but you shouldn't signal both...
It is both, but you only signal the T. In HS and NCAA-M, this is an intentional technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
It is both, but you only signal the T. In HS and NCAA-M, this is an intentional technical foul.
So signal T at the spot...come to the table, Color, number, signal "T", Intentional?, Push, (put my left foot in, left foot out, left foot in, and shake it all about), administer free throws, put ball back in play at the spot of the foul (in this instance backcourt endline since the foul happened in the backcourt lane). Thanks all

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 03:46pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I wouldn't even use the word "intentional." It's only likely to confuse the scorers, coaches, players, and fans (and maybe even the officials).

Ball goes into play at the division line, though, since it's a technical foul.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 03:48pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
So signal T at the spot...come to the table, Color, number, signal "T", Intentional?, Push, (put my left foot in, left foot out, left foot in, and shake it all about), administer free throws, put ball back in play at the spot of the foul (in this instance backcourt endline since the foul happened in the backcourt lane). Thanks all
-Josh
Actually, techincally, for HS, put ball back into play with a throw-in at the division line for the offended team; in NCAA, put the ball back into play at the POI, which was an endline throw-in for B after a made basket.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 03:49pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
... in NCAA, put the ball back into play at the POI, which was an endline throw-in for B after a made basket.
Actually, I'm not positive, but I believe Intentional Technicals in NCAA are two shots and the ball at the division line; not POI.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 04:00pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Actually, I'm not positive, but I believe Intentional Technicals in NCAA are two shots and the ball at the division line; not POI.
Wow - You are correct for men. I assumed it was the same, but just did some digging, and found that the resumption of play is different for the two sides. POI for NCAA-W, division line for NCAA-M. Nice catch. My mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
Actually, techincally, for HS, put ball back into play with a throw-in at the division line for the offended team; in NCAA, put the ball back into play at the POI, which was an endline throw-in for B after a made basket.
That would be VERY incorrect.

Pg 135 NCAA Rulebook 2008-09

RESUMPTION OF PLAY: For any technical foul(s), play shall resume
at the point of interruption except for a single intentional
or a single flagrant technical foul. For a single intentional
or a single flagrant technical foul, the ball shall be awarded
to the offended team at a designated spot at the division
line on either side of the playing court.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 04:36pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
That would be VERY incorrect.

Pg 135 NCAA Rulebook 2008-09

RESUMPTION OF PLAY: For any technical foul(s), play shall resume
at the point of interruption except for a single intentional
or a single flagrant technical foul. For a single intentional
or a single flagrant technical foul, the ball shall be awarded
to the offended team at a designated spot at the division
line on either side of the playing court.
Actually, it's only half incorrect, and I corrected myself in post #25. There is no "intentional technical" foul in NCAA-W, therefore, as this is simply a player/substitute technical foul in NCAA-W, the resumption of play (in NCAA-W) from the OP would be at the POI, which was a throw-in for team B after a made basket on the endline. I was only incorrect for NCAA-M.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 05:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atl
Posts: 48
Send a message via Yahoo to jevaque
Flagrant Technical Foul Penalty (Women) 10-3.13-17 Penalty and 10-4.8 and 9 Penalty. For any single flagrant technical foul, the ball shall be awarded to the offended team at the point of interruption.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intentional or Technical klancie Basketball 21 Sun Dec 14, 2008 09:02pm
Dead ball foul - diff. between intentional and technical djskinn Basketball 32 Sat Dec 30, 2006 08:07am
Intentional technical Cheryl P Basketball 13 Tue Nov 01, 2005 07:06am
6 Technical fouls and an intentional foul jritchie Basketball 16 Mon Feb 28, 2005 09:20am
Technical or Intentional? Ralph Stubenthal Basketball 3 Thu Nov 25, 1999 02:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1