The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Did I do this right? T at the end of 3rd Q (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50947-did-i-do-right-t-end-3rd-q.html)

AKOFL Wed Jan 14, 2009 04:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 568507)
In the OP, that is what happened. In CK's situation, he changed it to a non-shooting foul. That is why the enforcement changes - in the OP, the quarter had not ended because the 3 FT's for the shooting foul had not been completed. In CK's example, the quarter was complete (because there were no FT's to shoot), therefore the T is enforced at the start of the 4th quarter.

You are right. Sorry for the confusion. Got to watch more closely for the twists and turns the initial sit takes as it bounces off such great minds.:p

All_Heart Wed Jan 14, 2009 06:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by agr8zebra (Post 568501)
The teams were ready to play after the FT's but I had the timer put 60 seconds on the clock(normal time after the end of the period).

Did you keep the players on the floor above the 3pt line, free throw line extended during the free throws or did they go to their bench?

All_Heart Wed Jan 14, 2009 06:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 568485)
In Superman's,...er,...Clark Kent's situation, since the look happened after the horn, and there was no other activity to be completed to end the quarter, the FT's and the throw-in for the T will be at the start of the 4th quarter.

It is also an Indirect Technical charged to the Head Coach. :eek:

agr8zebra Wed Jan 14, 2009 11:57pm

Why an indirect to the Coach?

agr8zebra Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:02am

They were at their bench in the area where they are aloud to be

AKOFL Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by All_Heart (Post 568676)
It is also an Indirect Technical charged to the Head Coach. :eek:

Time expired and he considered them part of the bench. Is this right?

bob jenkins Thu Jan 15, 2009 09:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 568775)
Time expired and he considered them part of the bench. Is this right?

All team members are bench personnel during all intermissions.

All_Heart Thu Jan 15, 2009 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by agr8zebra (Post 568766)
Why an indirect to the Coach?

As a couple of others answered, once the quarter is over all players are now bench personnel.

Some other times where a player is bench personnel even though they are still on the court:

- Disqualified player after coach is notified.
- Substitute legally enters the court.

I don't necessarily agree that it should be an indirect technical charged to the coach a split second after the quarter is over, when the players are still on the court, but it is the rule.

All_Heart Thu Jan 15, 2009 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by agr8zebra (Post 568767)
They were at their bench in the area where they are aloud to be

The players need to remain on the court during these free throws. The quarter has not ended and there must still be 10 players on the court. What if A1 cusses at you from the bench area but you were not sure if he/she was in the game. You don't know if you have to charge the Head Coach with an indirect technical.

8-1-3...If the ball is to become dead when the last free throw for a specific penalty is not successful, players shall not occupy any spaces along the free throw lane.

8-1-5...Any player, other than the free thrower, who does not occupy a marked lane space must be behind the free-throw line extended and behind the three-point line.

agr8zebra Thu Jan 15, 2009 03:40pm

Well then there can be indirect because they have not become bench personnel as the quarter had not ended until the last FT of the Tech.

As far as them(all 10) being on the court, well I was administering the T's, it would be up to my partner take care of that, but if the roles are reversed, I would let then even sit at the bench or group/huddle around the coach. Only thing I wouldn't let happen is them diconcert the FT shooter, but as we are in the 3rd Qtr, FT shooter was shooting directly in front of his own bench, little chance of disconcerting there.

All_Heart Thu Jan 15, 2009 03:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by agr8zebra (Post 569096)
Well then there can be indirect because they have not become bench personnel as the quarter had not ended until the last FT of the Tech.

As far as them(all 10) being on the court, well I was administering the T's, it would be up to my partner take care of that, but if the roles are reversed, I would let then even sit at the bench or group/huddle around the coach. Only thing I wouldn't let happen is them diconcert the FT shooter, but as we are in the 3rd Qtr, FT shooter was shooting directly in front of his own bench, little chance of disconcerting there.

My point for keeping them on the court is that you can identify which team members are players and which ones are bench personnel. If you allow them to go to their benches then there is a good chance that all the bench personnel will get up and mix with the players.

I'm not trying to be difficult I was just pointing out the rule for other officials to learn. If we do it the right way then we will have less problems in the future. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1