![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
You can only fix the score anytime durring the game if the scorekeeper writes down what is not signaled by the official. If he writes down what is signald by the official it needs to be corrected in the alloted amount of time for a correcable error. I think I wrote that right.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
2-11-11 " ... a bookkeeping mistake may be corrected at any time until the referee approves the final score ..." We're not talking bookkeeping here. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Bartender! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
ART. 11 . . . Compare records with the visiting scorer after each goal, each foul, each charged time-out, and end of each quarter and extra period, notifying the referee at once of any discrepancy. If the mistake cannot be found, the referee shall accept the record of the official scorebook, unless he/she has knowledge which permits him/her to decide otherwise. If the discrepancy is in the score and the mistake is not resolved, the referee shall accept the progressive team totals of the official scorebook. A bookkeeping mistake may be corrected at any time until the referee approves the final score. The scorebook of the home team shall be the official book, unless the referee rules otherwise. The official scorebook shall remain at the scorer's table throughout the game, including all intermissions. No where in this rule does this refer to time limits or correctable error status it says notify the official when discovered, could be 2 minutes later.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
|
|||
|
CEs are in 2-10 you are looking under Scorers duties 2-11
|
|
|||
|
OK. If you would like to wait until the end of the quarter or end of game so be it. I would rather take care of it as it happens then there is no memory to be jogged or other sit that will have an effect on "getting it right". Hey partner I had a look at the feet and am sure the foot was on the line, What did you see? End of game. Coach we have a score correction from earlier in the quarter you didn't win we are going to overtime, wrse yet no overtime you lost. Have fun with that.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I think you are wrong by the intent if not the actual rule, however the most important thing here is that you get the call right, period. If the scorer puts a score in the book and I know it is wrong - I am changing it to what it should be when I get the chance. I am authorized to do so becuase points were put in the book and "the scorer did it wrong". little off topic. Now how about the not counting a basket at all? in this day and age of computerized play by play (not all HS have this)/even most everyone has some radio or webcast going. last night BV there were four books, two statisticians, I do not think I could have lost a point if I wanted to. There is too much information available for you not to be able to correct a score with fairly accurate knowledge. This is one they should look at taking out of the correctable error line and just make it right the get the score or they do not.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Don't know if I want to be there too often -- dueling indications -- but it does create the opportunity later for wiggle room. Or as it's been written so many times before, like Bob said. |
|
|||
|
Last weekend in southern Indiana. Ruled a three to win, 44-43.YouTube - Referee blows call big time
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
2-11-11 in prior posting.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
|
|||
|
I realize that - I am trying to get across the point that you can correct the score anytime that you find an error and you know it is wrong it does not fall under the limitations in 2-10 of the correctable error.
Quote:
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Signaling a three and the scorer puts down two falls under 2-11. Conflicting signals aren't really conflicting signals. There is no signal for "two," only for "three." Therefore, if one signals for "three" and the other merely points to the floor (or puts up two fingers), you only have one valid signal. Correcting this to a two must be done within the time frame allowed for in the rules.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
2.10.1 sit j A1 attempts a goal from behind the tree point line: (a) but the covering official fail to give the successful signal after the ball goes through the basket, and the scorer records only two points;or(b) and the covering official gives the successful signal, but the scorer records only two points. Team B inbound the ball and procedes to score. The coach of Team A goes to the table and request a 60 second time out to discuss the error. RULING: in(a) the error of not awarding three points is CORRECTABLE as it was detected prior to the second live ball after the error. The extra point is scored, the time out is not charged and the game continues from the POI. In(b) It is a mistake by the scorer which can be corrected any time until the final score has been approved.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|