![]() |
|
|
|||
Simultaneous charge and block
Just found this forum - great stuff.
I am a 2nd year offical... was a spectator at a BV game yesterday - 3 man crew. Lead calls charge.. C calls block. after conference they reported double foul to table, alternating posession. Is this correct? |
|
|||
they were right -- this is the dreaded blarge. there are ways it can be avoided, and they involve a pregame on the topic as well good crew communication and teamwork.
but the crew was right. The only thing is on a double foul it goes to POI unless the ball was loose.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
The Infamous Blarge Returns ...
Quote:
4.19.8 SITUATION C: A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball. Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter A1 returns one foot to the floor. One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the other official calls a charging foul on A1. The try is successful. RULING: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try and the goal is scored. Play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. (4-36) And BktBallRef has recently given us some good advice on how do avoid the dreaded blarge: GaOfficial: Welcome to the jungle, I mean, the Forum.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Jan 11, 2009 at 04:01pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Because the case play says so.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
||||
Quote:
Second, just because the ball is "loose" does not mean you go to the arrow. Team control does not end on a loose ball, therefore the offensive team would keep the ball. If, however, a shot had been attempted prior to contact, you would use the arrow since there was no team control (unless the basket is made, in which case you would count the basket and give the ball to the defense for and endline throwin.).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
GA - welcome. Just remember not everything you read on the interwebs is true. |
|
||||
Quote:
Not only does a player not have to be set to draw a charge, he never has to have been "set."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
It happend to Burr a few weeks back.
He was the Lead and sold a block, the Center sold a charge. They went with the Blarge..... Most of the guys 'round here subcribe to the "yield to the primary" on the double whistle. |
|
|||
Dual Coverage Areas
Double whistles often occur in the dual coverage areas. In my little corner of Connecticut, when a double whistle occurs in a dual coverage area, we usually yield to the official that the play is moving toward, which is usually the lead.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Help with Block or Charge | cropduster | Basketball | 13 | Tue Nov 07, 2006 08:02am |
Block/Charge | IREFU2 | Basketball | 28 | Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:53pm |
Block or Charge? | tmp44 | Basketball | 13 | Sun Apr 23, 2006 10:43am |
Block or charge | Rita C | Basketball | 16 | Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:21pm |
Block??/Charge?? | Ron Pilo | Basketball | 9 | Mon Dec 27, 1999 10:51pm |