The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Poi? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50732-poi.html)

referee99 Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:24am

Poi?
 
no monsieur. not the french!

Team A throws long pass towards their basket.
As the ball approaches them, A2 and B2 fight vigorously for position to catch the pass. Double foul called on A2 and B2! Ball was in close proximity to players when fouls occurred.

Where is ball inbounded if: a) it was inbounds pass was on throw-in from the endline, or b) thrown from opponents FT line. or c) thrown from backcourt near table?

Scrapper1 Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:31am

In each of your cases, the ball is put back in play at the spot closest to where the ball was last in contact with the floor or a player.

1) Original throw-in spot
2) Endline
3) Backcourt, near the table.

Ch1town Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 565123)
Where is ball inbounded if: a) it was inbounds pass was on throw-in from the endline, or b) thrown from opponents FT line. or c) thrown from backcourt near table?

a) Hard to read, do you mean it was a throw-in baseball pass?

b & c) The throw-in should be from where the pass originated if the double foul was prior to the pass being completed.

referee99 Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:36am

and on a try that misses?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 565129)
In each of your cases, the ball is put back in play at the spot closest to where the ball was last in contact with the floor or a player.

1) Original throw-in spot
2) Endline
3) Backcourt, near the table.

its the same? from whence ball was thrown, or where it ended up?

referee99 Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:37am

right. baseball pass from oob.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 565134)
a) Hard to read, do you mean it was a throw-in baseball pass?

b & c) The throw-in should be from where the pass originated if the double foul was prior to the pass being completed.

.................

bob jenkins Tue Jan 06, 2009 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 565135)
its the same? from whence ball was thrown, or where it ended up?


Sigh --

Where is the POI? It's the "Ball Location."

How is "Ball Location" defined -- see 4-4.

You received a clear, correct answer.

mbyron Tue Jan 06, 2009 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 565123)
no monsieur. not the french!

Poi is Hawaiian, not French. ;)

Adam Tue Jan 06, 2009 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 565285)
Poi is Hawaiian, not French. ;)

Mahalo.

Mark Padgett Tue Jan 06, 2009 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 565285)
Poi is Hawaiian, not French. ;)

You can only have poi in the game if you accompany it with a crab dribble. :rolleyes:

eyezen Tue Jan 06, 2009 03:54pm

Remember in NFHS there is no team control during a throw in so in a) you also have a AP throw in 6-4-3-g

Adam Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 565301)
Remember in NFHS there is no team control during a throw in so in a) you also have a AP throw in 6-4-3-g

I'm assuming 6-4-3g has the throwin over (ball legally touched) but team control not yet established. Right?

Scrapper1 Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 565301)
Remember in NFHS there is no team control during a throw in so in a) you also have a AP throw in 6-4-3-g

In the original situation, the throw-in pass was "approaching" the 2 players, so it had not been touched inbounds. That means that the throw-in hadn't ended; and that means that the POI is a new throw-in to the team that just threw the ball in.

If the ball had been touched before the double foul, then we would have no team control and NOT during the throw-in, so we would go to the arrow.

eyezen Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 565311)
In the original situation, the throw-in pass was "approaching" the 2 players, so it had not been touched inbounds. That means that the throw-in hadn't ended; and that means that the POI is a new throw-in to the team that just threw the ball in.

If the ball had been touched before the double foul, then we would have no team control and NOT during the throw-in, so we would go to the arrow.

I don't see where touching is relevant here, when the ball is at disposal, there is no team control during the throw in. If a double foul occurs before team control is established the you need to go to the arrow. Touching is only relevant to determine where the ball would be put in at.

Not entirely the same, but bear with me. During a shot attempt a double foul occurs do you not go to the arrow for the subsequent throw-in? Why? Because team control is not established. During a throw in would be the same. At disposal, no one has team control, so subsequent throw in is via the AP.

just another ref Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 565316)
I don't see where touching is relevant here, when the ball is at disposal, there is no team control during the throw in. If a double foul occurs before team control is established the you need to go to the arrow. Touching is only relevant to determine where the ball would be put in at.

Not entirely the same, but bear with me. During a shot attempt a double foul occurs do you not go to the arrow for the subsequent throw-in? Why? Because team control is not established. During a throw in would be the same. At disposal, no one has team control, so subsequent throw in is via the AP.


Read 4-36-2a defintion of Point of Interruption

Adam Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:22pm

In case your rule book isn't handy, eyezen, the definition of POI says if the interrupting event occurs during a throwin, the POI is the throwin.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1