The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Poi? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50732-poi.html)

eyezen Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 565317)
Read 4-36-2a defintion of Point of Interruption

I did, it says "A throw in to the team that was in control at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the interuption occured".

Which team is that during a throw in?

eyezen Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 565311)
In the original situation, the throw-in pass was "approaching" the 2 players, so it had not been touched inbounds. That means that the throw-in hadn't ended; and that means that the POI is a new throw-in to the team that just threw the ball in.

I agree if the original throw in was an AP throw in. The original AP throw in had not completed.

just another ref Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 565331)
I did, it says "A throw in to the team that was in control at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the interuption occured".

Which team is that during a throw in?


4-36-2b pardon me

Ch1town Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:31pm

eyezen, I fought this same battle on the board a little while back & got KO'd early. After re-reading POI & maybe viewing a couple of case plays you'll see they are right.

eyezen Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:33pm

Play shall be resumedby one of the following methods:
b) a free throw or throw in when the interruption occured during this activity (so in this case we will have a throw in) or if a team is entitled to such. (this could be it, but who is entitled?)

(PS I'm willing to be wrong on this)

eyezen Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 565335)
eyezen, I fought this same battle on the board a little while back & got KO'd early. After re-reading POI & maybe viewing a couple of case plays you'll see they are right.

It's not a battle. Its a civil discussion. And I could be wrong. Which case plays? I'll be more than happy to read them.

Adam Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 565337)
Play shall be resumedby one of the following methods:
b) a free throw or throw in when the interruption occured during this activity (so in this case we will have a throw in) or if a team is entitled to such. (this could be it, but who is entitled?)

(PS I'm willing to be wrong on this)

The red is what's relevant here. If the interruption was during the throwin, you get to do another throwin. It would be the same team that was in the midst of the throwin.

The whole idea of POI is "what if it hadn't happened."

Scenario:
A1 holding the ball for a throwin.
A2 and B2 get whistled for a double foul.

If it hadn't happened, A would have completed their throwin. Let them have the ball again for the throwin.

Adam Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 565342)
Say A1 shoots & before it goes it's successful we have a double foul, no t/c but we wont go to the arrow, Team A scored so Team B is entitled to such.

Or double Ts during any dead ball preceding a throwin or free throw.

Ch1town Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 565339)
It's not a battle. Its a civil discussion. And I could be wrong. Which case plays? I'll be more than happy to read them.

Didn't mean it like that... my fault. Don't have my book but I own that rule thanks to the forum :D

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 565337)
or if a team is entitled to such. (this could be it, but who is entitled?)

Say A1 shoots & before it's successful we have a double foul, no t/c but we wont go to the arrow, Team A scored so Team B is entitled to such.

Scrapper1 Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:41pm

I wrote this months ago, but I can't find the original thread now. Maybe it will be helpful. Read 4-36 all the way through and then read the following for the English translation:


If the double foul happens:
a) during a free throw or throwin, you resume with the free throw or throwin;
b) after a foul or violation, then you resume by administering the penalty for the foul or violation;
c) while the ball's in play and there's team control, then you simply give a throwin to the team in control;
d) when there is no team control, and there's no way to know who would have gotten the ball, then,
and only then, you go to the possession arrow.

It's actually really simple. Just ask yourself, "What would've happened if the whistle had not blown?" If you answer that you don't know, then go to the possession arrow. Otherwise, just do what you were going to do next anyway.

eyezen Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 565341)
The red is what's relevant here. If the interruption was during the throwin, you get to do another throwin. It would be the same team that was in the midst of the throwin.

The whole idea of POI is "what if it hadn't happened."

Scenario:
A1 holding the ball for a throwin.
A2 and B2 get whistled for a double foul.

If it hadn't happened, A would have completed their throwin. Let them have the ball again for the throwin.

All this tells me is how, not by whom.

Adam Tue Jan 06, 2009 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 565355)
All this tells me is how, not by whom.

The how would be obvious and doesn't need a rule for it. You can only put a ball in play with a jump ball (obviously not applicable), a free throw (not applicable), or a throw in.

It does tell you by whom.

eyezen Tue Jan 06, 2009 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 565346)
Didn't mean it like that... my fault. Don't have my book but I own that rule thanks to the forum :D



Say A1 shoots & before it's successful we have a double foul, no t/c but we wont go to the arrow, Team A scored so Team B is entitled to such.

I can see that angle, but also we could say we know that the ball is still live during the shot and no TC at this point. At the moment the ball is dead, made basket by A allowed B to become entitled Satifying part b. of 4-36-2

However one could also say that once the new throw in begins ball is live and the entitlement is over.

Guys, I'm arguing just as much with myself on this one. :D

Adam Tue Jan 06, 2009 05:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 565363)
I can see that angle, but also we could say we know that the ball is still live during the shot and no TC at this point. At the moment the ball is dead, made basket by A allowd B to become entitled Satifying part b. of 4-36-2

However one could also say that once the new throw in begins ball is live, no TC,then whistle for the foul and ball is dead with no TC?

Guys, I'm arguing just as much with myself on this one. :D

You're right, the made basket is the entitlement.

"During a throwin"....

Never mind.

eyezen Tue Jan 06, 2009 05:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 565364)
You're right, the made basket is the entitlement.

"During a throwin"....

Never mind.

Never mind what?

I'm trying to learn here.

"Play shall be resumed by one of the following methods. b) A free throw or throw in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such."

The first part of B tells me how (In OP the throw in was interupted during a throw in, so we restart with a throw in, nothing more nothing less)

The second part tells who if there is entitlement. I am making the case that A's entitlement is over once the ball becomes live.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1