The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Poi? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50732-poi.html)

Adam Tue Jan 06, 2009 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 565367)
Never mind what?

I quit. :) I'll let you argue with yourself. I have a game to go to.

mbyron Tue Jan 06, 2009 05:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 565367)
The second part tells who if there is entitlement. I am making the case that A's entitlement is over once the ball becomes live.

A's entitlement doesn't end until the throw-in ends (legally or by A's violation). They're entitled to a throw-in, not merely to a live ball.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 06, 2009 06:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 565123)
no monsieur. not the french!

Team A throws long pass towards their basket.
As the ball approaches them, A2 and B2 fight vigorously for position to catch the pass. Double foul called on A2 and B2! Ball was in close proximity to players when fouls occurred.

Where is ball inbounded if: a) it was inbounds pass was on throw-in from the endline, or b) thrown from opponents FT line. or c) thrown from backcourt near table?

2006-07 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 2: Post players A5 and B5 are called for a double personal foul while the ball is in the air on a pass from A1 in A's backcourt to A2 in A's frontcourt. RULING: Team A had control of the ball when the double foul occurred, and thus play will be resumed at the point of interruption. Team A will have a designated spot throw-in in A's backcourt nearest to where A1 was last in contact with the ball. (4-4-3; 4-36; 6-4-3g; 7-5-9)

dbking Tue Jan 13, 2009 02:22pm

nfhs
 
no monsieur. not the french!

Team A throws long pass towards their basket.
As the ball approaches them, A2 and B2 fight vigorously for position to catch the pass. Double foul called on A2 and B2! Ball was in close proximity to players when fouls occurred.

Where is ball inbounded if: a) it was inbounds pass was on throw-in from the endline, or b) thrown from opponents FT line. or c) thrown from backcourt near table?

This is from the NFHS:

a) The ball shall be given to Team for a throw in from spot nearest the last posession 4-36-2b – POI – I
b) Same as above if the throw is from the actual FT line. This is due to where you take the ball out on all throw ins. If it were outside the lane and on the FT line extended it would be on the side line nearest the spot.
c) The ball will be a throw in from the backcourt side line on table side nearest the spot the pass was throw from.

A couple of side notes on this:

If this were a throw in: a)thrower still has ball b) ball in flight c) has been touched by either team but not in control

a) and b) would go to original throw in spot since throw in has not ended. In c) you would go to the original throw in spot but use AP.

Adam Tue Jan 13, 2009 02:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dbking (Post 568050)
A couple of side notes on this:

If this were a throw in: a)thrower still has ball b) ball in flight c) has been touched by either team but not in control

a) and b) would go to original throw in spot since throw in has not ended. In c) you would go to the original throw in spot but use AP.

You have (a) and (b) correct. (c), however, would be at the spot nearest where it was touched; but you would go AP since the throwin had ended but control hadn't been established.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1