The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2002, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
This topic always generates some heat. By rule (and backed up by case plays and A.R.'s), if the defender gets to that spot before the shooter leaves the ground, and then there is contact that warrants a foul, the foul is on the shooter, regardless of where "that spot" is. There is no exception for a defender who has gained legal guarding position directly under the basket.

Many people will argue that the spirit of the rule dictates that an official should not call a PC when the defender is directly under the basket b/c "he can't be playing defense there"; therefore, he shouldn't be rewarded. As I said, by rule, this is an incorrect interpretation.

The bottom line, however, is that many assignors want the rule to be interpreted that way. So you need to find out from your board interpreter and/or your local assignor how the play is to be called -- and then call it that way.

Chuck
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1