The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2008, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
Yes THE Wasilla. my thoughts were that his shooting motion had not been completed as he was still airborn. Say he wasn't fouled and the sae play occured. As he ent up for the shot he lost control but was able to tap it in before he came back down.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2008, 04:24pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
The shot can be over before the airborne shooter returns to the floor.
Consider this play:

A1 jumps for shot, gets fouled. The ball goes up and comes down to A1 prior to A1 landing. A1 bats the ball back up. Two completely different shots; second one does not count.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2008, 04:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The shot can be over before the airborne shooter returns to the floor.
Consider this play:

A1 jumps for shot, gets fouled. The ball goes up and comes down to A1 prior to A1 landing. A1 bats the ball back up. Two completely different shots; second one does not count.
I appreciate that point. I guess we need to decide if it is part of the original shot movement. Any rule thoughts come to mind? I thought u could argue it either way, but usually their is a right and wrong. Notice I said usually.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2008, 04:58pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKOFL View Post
I appreciate that point. I guess we need to decide if it is part of the original shot movement. Any rule thoughts come to mind? I thought u could argue it either way, but usually their is a right and wrong. Notice I said usually.
zm nails the rule reference above.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2008, 05:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKOFL View Post
I appreciate that point. I guess we need to decide if it is part of the original shot movement. Any rule thoughts come to mind? I thought u could argue it either way, but usually their is a right and wrong. Notice I said usually.
I am having a hard time coming up with any scenario where the shooter's deliberate contacting of the ball after releasing it for a try isn't part of a new play: a rebound, putback or another shot attempt.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2008, 06:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
Any more situations would be beating a dead horse I think. I really loved that horse 2. If B1 holds the shooting arm from going up but A1 fights his way through to continue, he gets the bucket. Just because the ball comes loose a bit in that situation he looses the basket. that's a hard one to handle. It's not my 2 points though.Ha That's one dead horse!!!
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2008, 06:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKOFL View Post
Any more situations would be beating a dead horse I think. I really loved that horse 2. If B1 holds the shooting arm from going up but A1 fights his way through to continue, he gets the bucket. Just because the ball comes loose a bit in that situation he looses the basket. that's a hard one to handle. It's not my 2 points though.Ha That's one dead horse!!!
Well, you could always let the kid have the bucket on the second effort and pass on the foul.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2008, 09:29pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
I am having a hard time coming up with any scenario where the shooter's deliberate contacting of the ball after releasing it for a try isn't part of a new play: a rebound, putback or another shot attempt.
Bitsy,
Not the same, but there was something close in an NBA Championship game.
Can you picture a Michael Jordan highlight against the Pistons. [They showed it a lot over the years.]
MJ drives the middle of lane and goes up with his right...
He is fouled while holding the ball...
Still hanging, MJ switches the ball to his left...
He scores and then goes to the line.

  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
Bitsy,
Not the same, but there was something close in an NBA Championship game.
Can you picture a Michael Jordan highlight against the Pistons. [They showed it a lot over the years.]
MJ drives the middle of lane and goes up with his right...
He is fouled while holding the ball...
Still hanging, MJ switches the ball to his left...
He scores and then goes to the line.

Thats a different play. MJ never lost control so is allowed the continuation. In the original play the player lost control.
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 09:25am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caesar's Ghost View Post
Thats a different play. MJ never lost control so is allowed the continuation. In the original play the player lost control.
Yeah.
That's what I meant by "not the same...."
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
Bitsy,
Not the same, but there was something close in an NBA Championship game.
Can you picture a Michael Jordan highlight against the Pistons. [They showed it a lot over the years.]
MJ drives the middle of lane and goes up with his right...
He is fouled while holding the ball...
Still hanging, MJ switches the ball to his left...
He scores and then goes to the line.

The Bulls wouldn't play the Pistons in the NBA Championship as they are both in the Eastern Conference.

However, the play you refer to did happen in the NBA Finals against the Lakers. And he didn't get fouled.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DT1yNyRwd7w

But hey, otherwise spot on!
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out.
-- John Wooden
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 11:11am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach View Post
The Bulls wouldn't play the Pistons in the NBA Championship as they are both in the Eastern Conference.

However, the play you refer to did happen in the NBA Finals against the Lakers. And he didn't get fouled.

YouTube - Michael Jordan switches hands best quality

But hey, otherwise spot on!
I believe you are correct and that I kicked another one.
Thanks, PA Coach!
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2008, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKOFL View Post
As he ent up for the shot he lost control but was able to tap it in before he came back down.
what if he got fouled after losing control but before the tap is this a try since he lost control???
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2008, 08:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
what if he got fouled after losing control but before the tap is this a try since he lost control???
The player could be considered an airborne shooter if the official deems that he was originally trying for goal prior to losing control of the ball. That would mean that the foul entitles him to two FTs.

However, the tap had not yet begun at the time of the foul, so it cannot be considered in the play and any goal scored because of it would not count.

4-41-7 . . .
The tap starts when the player’s hand(s) touches the ball.

Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Player fouled out... Idaho Basketball 3 Sun Nov 18, 2007 02:40pm
Great Alaska Shootout (jump ball) Jay R Basketball 4 Sat Nov 25, 2006 03:19pm
shot at wrong basket and fouled reffish Basketball 7 Fri Sep 15, 2006 07:12pm
Fouled at End footlocker Basketball 12 Sun Jan 16, 2005 08:38pm
Fouled out, not really Nevadaref Basketball 48 Mon Jun 07, 2004 09:21am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1