The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Greetings from Alaska. fouled on the shot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50151-greetings-alaska-fouled-shot.html)

AKOFL Wed Dec 03, 2008 03:29pm

Greetings from Alaska. fouled on the shot
 
Hello all. I just stumbled on to this forum and enjoyed the discusions. Had a situation I wanted to get some feed back on. A1 is going up for a shot. (started the motion) and is fouled by B1. As B1 contacts A1 the ball is knocked loose. while still in the air A1 taps the ball up and In the basket. I saw this play in a game and the officials counted the basket to start with but then the coach had a discussion with them and they took away the basket and gave A1 two shots. I haven't found a case play situation like this or a specific rule. Personaly I would have counted the basket and given one free throw. Any thoughts would be great. I am a official in the Anchorage Sports Officials Association. Have been for three years. I have called ball since i graduated high school in 92. Love the game and look forward to calling the it for years to come. Always ready to learn!!!

Adam Wed Dec 03, 2008 03:42pm

Welcome to the forum.

There is an argument to be made that the basket shouldn't count because the initial try was not successful, and the 2nd try (tap) started after the foul.

CoachP Wed Dec 03, 2008 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 555088)
Welcome to the forum.

There is an argument to be made that the basket shouldn't count because the initial try was not successful, and the 2nd try (tap) started after the foul.

What's the argument for the other way?

zm1283 Wed Dec 03, 2008 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 555088)
Welcome to the forum.

There is an argument to be made that the basket shouldn't count because the initial try was not successful, and the 2nd try (tap) started after the foul.

I agree. 4-41-4 says: "The try ends when the throw is successful, when it is certain the throw is unsuccessful, when the thrown ball touches the floor or when the ball becomes dead".

Seems to me that the first throw was unsuccessful so the try ended and the ball was then dead because of the foul.

jdw3018 Wed Dec 03, 2008 03:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 555089)
What's the argument for the other way?

That the release of the ball and subsequent tap was all part of the same try.

Not saying I agree with it, but that would be the argument for counting the basket. ;)

Adam Wed Dec 03, 2008 03:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 555089)
What's the argument for the other way?

It's a really cool play. :)

Raymond Wed Dec 03, 2008 04:04pm

Wasilla, Ak???

As in the home of former mayor and current Gov. Sarah Palin?

AKOFL Wed Dec 03, 2008 04:15pm

Yes THE Wasilla. my thoughts were that his shooting motion had not been completed as he was still airborn. Say he wasn't fouled and the sae play occured. As he ent up for the shot he lost control but was able to tap it in before he came back down.

Adam Wed Dec 03, 2008 04:24pm

The shot can be over before the airborne shooter returns to the floor.
Consider this play:

A1 jumps for shot, gets fouled. The ball goes up and comes down to A1 prior to A1 landing. A1 bats the ball back up. Two completely different shots; second one does not count.

OHBBREF Wed Dec 03, 2008 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 555101)
As he ent up for the shot he lost control but was able to tap it in before he came back down.

what if he got fouled after losing control but before the tap is this a try since he lost control???

AKOFL Wed Dec 03, 2008 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 555103)
The shot can be over before the airborne shooter returns to the floor.
Consider this play:

A1 jumps for shot, gets fouled. The ball goes up and comes down to A1 prior to A1 landing. A1 bats the ball back up. Two completely different shots; second one does not count.

I appreciate that point. I guess we need to decide if it is part of the original shot movement. Any rule thoughts come to mind? I thought u could argue it either way, but usually their is a right and wrong. Notice I said usually.

Adam Wed Dec 03, 2008 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 555109)
I appreciate that point. I guess we need to decide if it is part of the original shot movement. Any rule thoughts come to mind? I thought u could argue it either way, but usually their is a right and wrong. Notice I said usually.

zm nails the rule reference above.

Back In The Saddle Wed Dec 03, 2008 05:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 555094)
I agree. 4-41-4 says: "The try ends when the throw is successful, when it is certain the throw is unsuccessful, when the thrown ball touches the floor or when the ball becomes dead".

Seems to me that the first throw was unsuccessful so the try ended and the ball was then dead because of the foul.

+1

The 1st Commandment of basketball officiating: Thou shalt know thy definitions. ;)

mick Wed Dec 03, 2008 05:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 555085)
Hello all. I just stumbled on to this forum and enjoyed the discusions.

Welcome to the forum, AKOFL.
Very good sitch!

For me, the second shot never happened.

Back In The Saddle Wed Dec 03, 2008 05:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 555109)
I appreciate that point. I guess we need to decide if it is part of the original shot movement. Any rule thoughts come to mind? I thought u could argue it either way, but usually their is a right and wrong. Notice I said usually.

I am having a hard time coming up with any scenario where the shooter's deliberate contacting of the ball after releasing it for a try isn't part of a new play: a rebound, putback or another shot attempt.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1