![]() |
|
|||
|
2008-09 NFHS Casebook Play 3.2.2 SITUATION B(b).
States: "Three minutes before the game starts, it is discovered: (b) two Team B team members are wearing the same number. RULING: In (b), a technical foul is charged to Team B upon discovery of the identical numbers. Only one team member may wear a given number; the other must change to a number not already in use before participating. (R10-S1-A2)"
Therefore, the RULING in 2008-09 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretation SITUATION 2(b) and (c) is incorrect. The Casebook Play has been in effect since before the NFHS and NCAA adopted the either "0" or "00" but not both rule. When the NFHS and NCAA adopted the either "0" or "00" but not both rule, "0" and "00" were to be considered the same number because, as I stated in my earlier history lesson regarding reason for the rule's adoption computers could and I suppose they still cannot tell the difference between "0" and "00". So ends tonight history lesson. ![]() MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Writing for Officiating.com | Carl Childress | Football | 3 | Sun Apr 04, 2004 12:38am |
| Writing for Officiating.com | Carl Childress | Basketball | 8 | Wed Mar 31, 2004 11:22am |
| Writing for Officiating.com | Carl Childress | Hockey | 1 | Wed Mar 31, 2004 01:24am |
| Writing for Officiating.com | Carl Childress | Rugby | 0 | Tue Mar 30, 2004 05:33am |
| Writing for Officiating.com | Carl Childress | Lacrosse | 0 | Tue Mar 30, 2004 05:26am |