The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
The head coach may also confer with personnel at scorer's table to request a 60-second time-out (or one 30-second time-out if that is the only type of time-out remaining) for a correctable error as in 2-10, or to prevent or rectify a timing or scoring mistake or alternating possession mistake.

I can not find anywhere in the rule book that says the coach must be beckoned to the table to rectify a mistake. Not sure where you get that. There is a timeout charged to his team if there is no correction made.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post

I can not find anywhere in the rule book that says the coach must be beckoned to the table to rectify a mistake. Not sure where you get that. There is a timeout charged to his team if there is no correction made.

It wasn't from the rule book rather one of the test questions that stated that a coach could only approach the scorer's table if beckoned by an official.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
I can not find anywhere in the rule book that says the coach must be beckoned to the table to rectify a mistake. Not sure where you get that. There is a timeout charged to his team if there is no correction made.

Do you know where that rule is that states that if no correction is made a timeout will be charged to the team?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Kent View Post
Do you know where that rule is that states that if no correction is made a timeout will be charged to the team?
Yes, I do.

In case you want to know (and, I guess, even if you don't), it's 5-11-3
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 03:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
perfect. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
So if Team A is out of time-outs but knows the score is wrong and calls a time-out to rectify it, play will be stopped and the time-out awarded. Then if the score is found to be wrong there will be no Technical foul on Team A correct? However if it is found to be the right score then Team A is assessed a technical foul?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 04:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Kent View Post
So if Team A is out of time-outs but knows the score is wrong and calls a time-out to rectify it, play will be stopped and the time-out awarded. Then if the score is found to be wrong there will be no Technical foul on Team A correct? However if it is found to be the right score then Team A is assessed a technical foul?
Correct.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 05:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 297
What is the procedure/wording for the head coach to use?

Call timeout and then when it's granted tell the ref "I called this timeout for a correctable error purpose only".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1