The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
So let me get this straight....you are saying that rule 10-5-1c that states....

"The head coach may stand and/or leave the coaching box to confer with personnel at the score's table to request a time-out as in 5-8-4."

That he/she as the coach may approach the scorer's table without being "beckoned" by the official?

Because 5-8-4 says....

"....Responds to the score's signal to grant a coach's request that a correctable error, as in 2-10, or a timing, scoring or alternating-possession mistake be prevented or rectified. The appeal to the official shall be presented at the scorer's table where a coach of each team may be present."

So now as I re-read that it seems that it is permissible for the coach to leave the box in order to "rectify" a score even if the official doesn't beckon him, and consequently making the statement false because it says "only if".
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1