The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
Validation

I'm looking for validation on the following question.

The head coach may leave the coaching box to go to the scorer’s table to rectify a scoring mistake only if beckoned by an official.

I would agree with that statement with the logic that rectifying the score is not one of the reasons to which the coach may approach the scorer's table (10-5-1) however if her is beckoned by an official I would believe that to be appropriate.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 02:27pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Kent View Post
The head coach may leave the coaching box to go to the scorer’s table to rectify a scoring mistake only if beckoned by an official.
Read rule 10 concerning head coaches.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
So let me get this straight....you are saying that rule 10-5-1c that states....

"The head coach may stand and/or leave the coaching box to confer with personnel at the score's table to request a time-out as in 5-8-4."

That he/she as the coach may approach the scorer's table without being "beckoned" by the official?

Because 5-8-4 says....

"....Responds to the score's signal to grant a coach's request that a correctable error, as in 2-10, or a timing, scoring or alternating-possession mistake be prevented or rectified. The appeal to the official shall be presented at the scorer's table where a coach of each team may be present."

So now as I re-read that it seems that it is permissible for the coach to leave the box in order to "rectify" a score even if the official doesn't beckon him, and consequently making the statement false because it says "only if".
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
False, a coach can go to the scorers table to bring an error to the attention of the score keeper and officials without being beckoned. How would the officials know to beckon the coach if they don't even know there is an error yet?
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
The head coach may also confer with personnel at scorer's table to request a 60-second time-out (or one 30-second time-out if that is the only type of time-out remaining) for a correctable error as in 2-10, or to prevent or rectify a timing or scoring mistake or alternating possession mistake.

I can not find anywhere in the rule book that says the coach must be beckoned to the table to rectify a mistake. Not sure where you get that. There is a timeout charged to his team if there is no correction made.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post

I can not find anywhere in the rule book that says the coach must be beckoned to the table to rectify a mistake. Not sure where you get that. There is a timeout charged to his team if there is no correction made.

It wasn't from the rule book rather one of the test questions that stated that a coach could only approach the scorer's table if beckoned by an official.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
I can not find anywhere in the rule book that says the coach must be beckoned to the table to rectify a mistake. Not sure where you get that. There is a timeout charged to his team if there is no correction made.

Do you know where that rule is that states that if no correction is made a timeout will be charged to the team?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2008, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Kent View Post
Do you know where that rule is that states that if no correction is made a timeout will be charged to the team?
Yes, I do.

In case you want to know (and, I guess, even if you don't), it's 5-11-3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1