Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Everyone so far has given you the correct answer, but no one has yet provided a rules citation, so here is what the NFHS Case Book says:
9.2.5 SITUATION: Thrower A1 inadvertently steps onto the court inbounds. A1
immediately steps back into normal out-of-bounds throw-in position. The contact
with the court was during a situation: (a) with; or (b) without defensive pressure
on the throw-in team. RULING: A violation in both (a) and (b). COMMENT:
Whether or not there was defensive pressure or whether or not stepping on the
court was inadvertent, it is a violation and no judgment is required in making the
call.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
This case clearly says that STEPPING INBOUNDS is what is illegal, which was definitely part of the OP's question: "...or does the player indeed have to touch the grain of the court for crossing the plane..."
So I was confirming his belief with a printed citation from the NFHS.
|
Fair enough, and only for the purpose of playing devil's advocate; this case play says nothing about a player stepping on the line. Knowing that stepping into the court is illegal does not tell us that stepping on the line is legal.
What it says is clear, what it implies is not so obvious.