The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater View Post
Lets change this up just a bit.

The score is tied. With 1 second left on the clock in the 4th quarter. On a layup attempt, after the release, but before A1 returns to the floor, A1 contacts B1 who has established legal defensive position. The shot bounces on the rim a bit and then A1 's shot goes in the basket after the horn sounds. Ruling?

I would be interested if this ruling would be different for FIBA, NFHS, & NCAA.
In FIBA the basket would count, since it was released before time expired; the foul on A1 is a common foul of the team not in control of the ball, so B1 shoots the bonus (if after the 4th foul in the period). However, if time expires before the contact between A1 and B1, the contact is ignored.

Note that the bonus free throws for B1 are to be shooted even if they cannot affect the outcome of the match. Your rule about this is much better.

Ciao
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1