The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Arrow oops! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49187-arrow-oops.html)

Adam Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 540552)
Ok, double fouls go to POI unless there is no team control (throw-in) in which case we'd go to the arrow.
But wait a minute... the arrow hadn't switched because the throw-in (to the wrong team) hadn't ended yet. It seems logical to fix the mistake here & give it to Team A.

Or better yet, don't %#&* it up to begin with!

POI goes to arrow if there is no team control or throwin, so you can't go to the arrow here.

Scrapper1 Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 540552)
double fouls go to POI unless there is no team control (throw-in) in which case we'd go to the arrow.

Double fouls ALWAYS go to the POI. It's just that sometimes the POI is the AP arrow.

Adam Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 540558)
Double fouls ALWAYS go to the POI. It's just that sometimes the POI is the AP arrow.

A throwin is not one of those times, though.

Ch1town Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:13pm

Doesnt seem like anyone else wants to play... how would you handle this sitch Snaq?

Scrapper1 Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 540559)
A throwin is not one of those times, though.

True. I merely wanted to dispel the idea of "go to the POI unless. . ." No, always go to the POI. You may end up using the arrow, but that is still the POI in certain situations.

Adam Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 540561)
Doesnt seem like anyone else wants to play... how would you handle this sitch Snaq?

I'm correcting the original error and giving the ball to A for an AP throwin.

Ch1town Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:18pm

Appreciate that kind sir! Gotta get my verbage up to par.
Double fouls go to POI, when no team control POI is the AP arrow, correct?

bob jenkins Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 540561)
Doesnt seem like anyone else wants to play... how would you handle this sitch Snaq?

Has the throw-in ended? I think that will lead you to the correct answer.

Ch1town Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 540563)
I'm correcting the original error and giving the ball to A for an AP throwin.

Okay that's what I thought (see post #14) as the throw-in hadn't ended. Thanks!

bob jenkins Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 540564)
Appreciate that kind sir! Gotta get my verbage up to par.
Double fouls go to POI, when no team control POI is the AP arrow, correct?

Not correct.

Ch1town Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 540568)
Not correct.

Okay, could you help me out then?

Scrapper1 Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 540570)
Okay, could you help me out then?

I started a new thread just for you. :)

BillyMac Wed Oct 01, 2008 06:48pm

Have Rules, Will Travel ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 540505)
Interesting. A bit of incentive for A to kick the ball here; although the odds against them knowing of the error and thinking of this way to correct it within the 2 seconds or so they'll have are pretty long.

Not if Jurassic Referee was the player involved.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Oct 01, 2008 07:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 540534)
Here's a twist, let's have a double foul during the throwin mistakenly given to team B.

Now what?


Snaqs:

You are just plain evil with a capital "E", :D.

Since the double foul was committed before the throw-in ended the AP Arrow will not be reversed; that is the easy part.

NFHS rules: There IS NO team control during a throw-in; therefore, Team A will receive the ball for an AP Throw-in per NFHS R6-S4-A3g.

BUT NCAA rules: There IS team control during a throw-in. The double foul is a Point-of-Interruption (POI) with the penalty being a throw-in by the team in control of the ball nearest the spot where the ball was at the time of the double foul. Even though Team B had team control of the ball during the throw-in, the officials' mistake of giving the ball to Team B for the AP Throw-in is correctable (by rule) and therefore, the POI is the AP Throw-in by Team A. Team A would receive the ball for a throw-in nearest the spot of the ball at the time of the double foul and Team A would retain the AP Arrow for the next AP Throw-in.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. Snaqs rather than evil, your play is actually kinky, :D: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-lj056ao6GE (about 15 seconds into the video).

Nevadaref Thu Oct 02, 2008 03:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 540611)
Snaqs:

You are just plain evil with a capital "E", :D.

Since the double foul was committed before the throw-in ended the AP Arrow will not be reversed; that is the easy part.

NFHS rules: There IS NO team control during a throw-in; therefore, Team A will receive the ball for an AP Throw-in per NFHS R6-S4-A3g.

BUT NCAA rules: There IS team control during a throw-in. The double foul is a Point-of-Interruption (POI) with the penalty being a throw-in by the team in control of the ball nearest the spot where the ball was at the time of the double foul. Even though Team B had team control of the ball during the throw-in, the officials' mistake of giving the ball to Team B for the AP Throw-in is correctable (by rule) and therefore, the POI is the AP Throw-in by Team A. Team A would receive the ball for a throw-in nearest the spot of the ball at the time of the double foul and Team A would retain the AP Arrow for the next AP Throw-in.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. Snaqs rather than evil, your play is actually kinky, :D: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-lj056ao6GE (about 15 seconds into the video).

You got the administration under NFHS rules correct, but for the WRONG reason. You forgot that step B in the POI process gives the ball to a team if the stoppage occurred during a throw-in or the team is entitled to a throw-in. So that's the POI, not the AP arrow. Following the double foul DURING the throw-in, Team A is still entitled to an AP throw-in from before and the official can still fix the mistake of awarding the ball to the wrong team. So give the ball to Team A for an AP throw-in under 4-36-2b and 7.5.2 Sit A.

Your ruling for NCAA is incorrect because Team A would not retain the arrow following the official fixing the previous mistake and giving them their entitled AP throw-in.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1