The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Arrow oops! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49187-arrow-oops.html)

Scrapper1 Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:26pm

Arrow oops!
 
A held ball is called and the AP arrow favors Team A. The officials mistakenly award the ball to Team B. B1 releases the throw-in pass and the ball is immediately kicked by A1. The table then informs the officials that Team A should have had the last throw-in. What happens next?

Ch1town Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:36pm

"We made a mistake coach (Team A) but you get 2 of the next 3 arrows"

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 540474)
A held ball is called and the AP arrow favors Team A. The officials mistakenly award the ball to Team B. B1 releases the throw-in pass and the ball is immediately kicked by A1. The table then informs the officials that Team A should have had the last throw-in. What happens next?


Scrapper1:

NFHS R4-S42-A5: "The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is legally touched by a player inbounds or out of bounds, except as in R7-S5-A7." See NCAA R4-S67-A4 for the comparable rule.

Your situation is not a Correctable Error (ER) and I know, but cannot find it in the rules book, that it if it is discovered before the AP Throw-in ends that the wrong team has been given the ball for the AP Throw-in has ended that the correct team can be given the ball for the AP Throw-in. Since, by definition the throw-in in your situation did not end because A1 did not legally touch the ball, Team A is awarded the ball for an AP Throw-in at this point in the game.

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 540481)
"We made a mistake coach (Team A) but you get 2 of the next 3 arrows"


Ch1town:

Wrong answer, see my post immediately below yours.

MTD, Sr.

Ch1town Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:54pm

That's right, I remember the big deal last year about a kick on a AP throw-in. The next throw-in is for the violation & the team retains the arrow. So yeah the throw-in never ended & can still be corrected. Thanks MTD!

Scrapper1 Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 540485)
if it is discovered before the AP Throw-in ends that the wrong team has been given the ball for the AP Throw-in has ended that the correct team can be given the ball for the AP Throw-in. Since, by definition the throw-in in your situation did not end because A1 did not legally touch the ball, Team A is awarded the ball for an AP Throw-in at this point in the game.

Bingo. Again, you guys are too smart and too quick. I was hoping there would be a little more discussion before somebody remembered that it can be corrected until the throw-in ends.

Adam Wed Oct 01, 2008 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 540496)
Bingo. Again, you guys are too smart and too quick. I was hoping there would be a little more discussion before somebody remembered that it can be corrected until the throw-in ends.

Interesting. A bit of incentive for A to kick the ball here; although the odds against them knowing of the error and thinking of this way to correct it within the 2 seconds or so they'll have are pretty long.

jdmara Wed Oct 01, 2008 01:52pm

So if B would have successfully thrown the ball into play, nothing could have been corrected if noticed?

-Josh

Adam Wed Oct 01, 2008 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 540530)
So if B would have successfully thrown the ball into play, nothing could have been corrected if noticed?

-Josh

That's correct, regardless of the outcome of the throwin (catch by offense, steal by defense, tip out of bounds by defense or offense).

Adam Wed Oct 01, 2008 01:59pm

Here's a twist, let's have a double foul during the throwin mistakenly given to team B.

Now what?

jdmara Wed Oct 01, 2008 02:19pm

Shew...I think there is a rule book calling may name tonight...time to read up again on CE

-Josh

Adam Wed Oct 01, 2008 02:24pm

It won't be under CE. This is one you'll need to combine some things for.

jdmara Wed Oct 01, 2008 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 540542)
It won't be under CE. This is one you'll need to combine some things for.

It's time to look at CE again anyways, along with the rest of the rulebook

-Josh

Ch1town Wed Oct 01, 2008 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 540534)
Here's a twist, let's have a double foul during the throwin mistakenly given to team B.

Now what?

Ok, double fouls go to POI unless there is no team control (throw-in) in which case we'd go to the arrow.
But wait a minute... the arrow hadn't switched because the throw-in (to the wrong team) hadn't ended yet. It seems logical to fix the mistake here & give it to Team A.

Or better yet, don't %#&* it up to begin with!

Adam Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 540550)
It's time to look at CE again anyways, along with the rest of the rulebook

-Josh

Fair enough. :)

Adam Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 540552)
Ok, double fouls go to POI unless there is no team control (throw-in) in which case we'd go to the arrow.
But wait a minute... the arrow hadn't switched because the throw-in (to the wrong team) hadn't ended yet. It seems logical to fix the mistake here & give it to Team A.

Or better yet, don't %#&* it up to begin with!

POI goes to arrow if there is no team control or throwin, so you can't go to the arrow here.

Scrapper1 Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 540552)
double fouls go to POI unless there is no team control (throw-in) in which case we'd go to the arrow.

Double fouls ALWAYS go to the POI. It's just that sometimes the POI is the AP arrow.

Adam Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 540558)
Double fouls ALWAYS go to the POI. It's just that sometimes the POI is the AP arrow.

A throwin is not one of those times, though.

Ch1town Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:13pm

Doesnt seem like anyone else wants to play... how would you handle this sitch Snaq?

Scrapper1 Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 540559)
A throwin is not one of those times, though.

True. I merely wanted to dispel the idea of "go to the POI unless. . ." No, always go to the POI. You may end up using the arrow, but that is still the POI in certain situations.

Adam Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 540561)
Doesnt seem like anyone else wants to play... how would you handle this sitch Snaq?

I'm correcting the original error and giving the ball to A for an AP throwin.

Ch1town Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:18pm

Appreciate that kind sir! Gotta get my verbage up to par.
Double fouls go to POI, when no team control POI is the AP arrow, correct?

bob jenkins Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 540561)
Doesnt seem like anyone else wants to play... how would you handle this sitch Snaq?

Has the throw-in ended? I think that will lead you to the correct answer.

Ch1town Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 540563)
I'm correcting the original error and giving the ball to A for an AP throwin.

Okay that's what I thought (see post #14) as the throw-in hadn't ended. Thanks!

bob jenkins Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 540564)
Appreciate that kind sir! Gotta get my verbage up to par.
Double fouls go to POI, when no team control POI is the AP arrow, correct?

Not correct.

Ch1town Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 540568)
Not correct.

Okay, could you help me out then?

Scrapper1 Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 540570)
Okay, could you help me out then?

I started a new thread just for you. :)

BillyMac Wed Oct 01, 2008 06:48pm

Have Rules, Will Travel ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 540505)
Interesting. A bit of incentive for A to kick the ball here; although the odds against them knowing of the error and thinking of this way to correct it within the 2 seconds or so they'll have are pretty long.

Not if Jurassic Referee was the player involved.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Oct 01, 2008 07:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 540534)
Here's a twist, let's have a double foul during the throwin mistakenly given to team B.

Now what?


Snaqs:

You are just plain evil with a capital "E", :D.

Since the double foul was committed before the throw-in ended the AP Arrow will not be reversed; that is the easy part.

NFHS rules: There IS NO team control during a throw-in; therefore, Team A will receive the ball for an AP Throw-in per NFHS R6-S4-A3g.

BUT NCAA rules: There IS team control during a throw-in. The double foul is a Point-of-Interruption (POI) with the penalty being a throw-in by the team in control of the ball nearest the spot where the ball was at the time of the double foul. Even though Team B had team control of the ball during the throw-in, the officials' mistake of giving the ball to Team B for the AP Throw-in is correctable (by rule) and therefore, the POI is the AP Throw-in by Team A. Team A would receive the ball for a throw-in nearest the spot of the ball at the time of the double foul and Team A would retain the AP Arrow for the next AP Throw-in.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. Snaqs rather than evil, your play is actually kinky, :D: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-lj056ao6GE (about 15 seconds into the video).

Nevadaref Thu Oct 02, 2008 03:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 540611)
Snaqs:

You are just plain evil with a capital "E", :D.

Since the double foul was committed before the throw-in ended the AP Arrow will not be reversed; that is the easy part.

NFHS rules: There IS NO team control during a throw-in; therefore, Team A will receive the ball for an AP Throw-in per NFHS R6-S4-A3g.

BUT NCAA rules: There IS team control during a throw-in. The double foul is a Point-of-Interruption (POI) with the penalty being a throw-in by the team in control of the ball nearest the spot where the ball was at the time of the double foul. Even though Team B had team control of the ball during the throw-in, the officials' mistake of giving the ball to Team B for the AP Throw-in is correctable (by rule) and therefore, the POI is the AP Throw-in by Team A. Team A would receive the ball for a throw-in nearest the spot of the ball at the time of the double foul and Team A would retain the AP Arrow for the next AP Throw-in.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. Snaqs rather than evil, your play is actually kinky, :D: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-lj056ao6GE (about 15 seconds into the video).

You got the administration under NFHS rules correct, but for the WRONG reason. You forgot that step B in the POI process gives the ball to a team if the stoppage occurred during a throw-in or the team is entitled to a throw-in. So that's the POI, not the AP arrow. Following the double foul DURING the throw-in, Team A is still entitled to an AP throw-in from before and the official can still fix the mistake of awarding the ball to the wrong team. So give the ball to Team A for an AP throw-in under 4-36-2b and 7.5.2 Sit A.

Your ruling for NCAA is incorrect because Team A would not retain the arrow following the official fixing the previous mistake and giving them their entitled AP throw-in.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Oct 02, 2008 08:02am

For NevadaRef's eyes and anybody else who wants to read it.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 540662)
You got the administration under NFHS rules correct, but for the WRONG reason. You forgot that step B in the POI process gives the ball to a team if the stoppage occurred during a throw-in or the team is entitled to a throw-in. So that's the POI, not the AP arrow. Following the double foul DURING the throw-in, Team A is still entitled to an AP throw-in from before and the official can still fix the mistake of awarding the ball to the wrong team. So give the ball to Team A for an AP throw-in under 4-36-2b and 7.5.2 Sit A.

Your ruling for NCAA is incorrect because Team A would not retain the arrow following the official fixing the previous mistake and giving them their entitled AP throw-in.


NevadaRef:

NFHS: We are both correct. R4-S35-A1 defines what is a POI. R4-S36-A2c and R6-S4-A3g state the same thing: How the ball shall be put into play for a double foul when there is no team control when the foul occured.

NCAA: I am going to have to research what you have said, but it is 09:00amEDT and I have a 09:30amEDT at the H.S. for a delivery to the football stadium's concession stand. I will get back to you later.

Ta ta.

MTD, Sr.

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 02, 2008 09:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 540611)
BUT NCAA rules: There IS team control during a throw-in. The double foul is a Point-of-Interruption (POI) with the penalty being a throw-in by the team in control of the ball nearest the spot where the ball was at the time of the double foul.

Just a minor comment. The team control issue in NCAA rules isn't really relevant here. When a throw-in is involved, as it is here, then the POI is simply another throw-in for the team that is making the original throw-in or is entitled to the throw-in (for a previous foul or violation, for example). That's NCAA 4-53-2c. It's essentially the same as the NFHS rule for POI during a throw-in (except for the shot clock element).

So while there is indeed team control during a throw-in in NCAA rules, it doesn't really matter to the adjudication of this play.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Oct 02, 2008 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 540702)
Just a minor comment. The team control issue in NCAA rules isn't really relevant here. When a throw-in is involved, as it is here, then the POI is simply another throw-in for the team that is making the original throw-in or is entitled to the throw-in (for a previous foul or violation, for example). That's NCAA 4-53-2c. It's essentially the same as the NFHS rule for POI during a throw-in (except for the shot clock element).

So while there is indeed team control during a throw-in in NCAA rules, it doesn't really matter to the adjudication of this play.


Scrapper:

I hope you meant NCAA R4-S53-A2a and not R4-S53-A2c? I am still working on my response to NevadaRef.

MTD, Sr.

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 02, 2008 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 540721)
I hope you meant NCAA R4-S53-A2a and not R4-S53-A2c?

Alas, your hope is misplaced. I did indeed mean 4-53-2c. 2c deals with the POI when it occurs during a throw-in, which is precisely the play we're dealing with.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Oct 02, 2008 01:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 540725)
Alas, your hope is misplaced. I did indeed mean 4-53-2c. 2c deals with the POI when it occurs during a throw-in, which is precisely the play we're dealing with.


Scrapper:

I see the throw-in connection, but 2a is more relevant because it deals directly with team control, which is a major part of our discussion.

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Oct 02, 2008 02:19pm

NevadaRef and Snaqs
 
I cannot find in either NFHS and NCAA rules books where it states that the when a team is awarded an AP Throw-in to which it is not entitled, this officials’ mistake can be rectified as long as it is discovered before the AP Throw-in ends. I guess if I was not looking for it I would have found it already.

I am not going to quote the appropriate rules, but the following NCAA rules are the pertinent rules references for the play being discovered:

R4-S2-A2: Defines when an AP Throw-in ends.

R4-S53-A1d: Defines a POI.

R4-S53-A2a: Defines who shall get the throw-in when after a double foul which was committed while there was team control of the ball.

R6-S3-A1f: Does not apply because there was team control when the ball became dead due to the double foul.

R7-S4-A1j: States that the ball shall be awarded out-of-bounds after a double foul.

R7-S5-A10: State that if a double foul occurs during team control, play shall resume at the POI.

RS6-A2: Defines when a throw-in ends. note: See R4-S2-A2.



Let us break the play down into its component parts:

1) Held ball occurs. AP Arrow correctly pointed towards Team A’s basket (or incorrectly pointed towards Team B’s basket).

2) Team B is (incorrectly) awarded the AP Throw-in due to the held ball in (1).

3) There is team control during Team B’s (incorrectly awarded) AP Throw-in.

4) There is a double foul before Team B’s (incorrectly awarded) AP Throw-in ends.

5) Team B’s (incorrectly awarded) AP Throw-in has not ended because the double foul occurred before the Team B’s (incorrectly awarded) AP Throw-in). Therefore the AP Arrow is not reversed.

6) A double foul is a POI by definition.

7) When a double foul occurs while there is team control, the team in control of the ball shall be awarded a throw-in. note: I see this as the first fly in the ointment in the play being discussed.

8) Can the officials’ mistake of incorrectly awarding Team B Team A’s AP Throw-in be corrected? ANSWER: Yes, because the AP Throw-in had not ended. note: And I see this as the second fly in the ointment.

NevadaRef’ has brought up a very good point: Assuming that Team A was correctly awarded the AP Throw-in in the first place, the POI of interruption was the AP Throw-in. Therefore, the ball will be put into play with Team A resuming its AP Throw-in. BUT Team B had control of the ball when the double foul occurred. AND that begs the question: What was the POI? (1) Team B’s (incorrectly) awarded AP Throw-in. HC-B might argue that the game officials should correct the AP Arrow to reflect that Team A will get the next AP Throw-in and that Team B should get the throw-in per the POI rule since it had team control when the double foul occurred. (2/NevadaRef’s position.) Correct the AP Arrow and Team A gets the ball for an AP Throw-in per the POI rule. (3/My original position.) Correct the AP Arrow, Team A gets the ball for a throw-in and retains the AP Arrow for the next jump ball situation.

There is absolutely no rule support for Position (1). Someone would have to be insane (Old School where are you when we need you?) to propose this solution.

After breaking down the play, which I didn’t do originally, I came to the same conclusion that NevadaRef did and that Team A’s throw-in is the original AP Throw-in it was entitled to in the beginning. I also talked with "The Preacher" and he agrees that Team A's POI throw-in is a AP Throw-in.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. This is why it is my humble opinion that the !@#$%$#!@#%$%^%^&&*%* Alternating Possession in an abomination upon the game and that we should go back to having real jump balls for all jump ball situtions.

P.P.S. Snaqs, you started this second mess, where are you? :D

Adam Thu Oct 02, 2008 04:11pm

Case 6.4.1D; but it says only it can't be corrected after the ball touches an inbounds player. It says nothing about the throwin being completed.

Adam Thu Oct 02, 2008 04:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 540812)
P.P.S. Snaqs, you started this second mess, where are yoiu? :D

My car drove me to Midas this morning, and Midas said it would cost more to fix it than I think the car is worth. I've been shopping all day.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Oct 02, 2008 07:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 540836)
Case 6.4.1D; but it says only it can't be corrected after the ball touches an inbounds player. It says nothing about the throwin being completed.


Snaqs:

6.4.1D is implying that the error has to be recognized before the throw-in ends. See definition of when a throw-in ends. And remember what is "kinky" in Blazing Saddles.

MTD, Sr.

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 02, 2008 08:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 540803)
team control, which is a major part of our discussion.

This is where we disagree, Mark. Team control is irrelevant to the discussion. The interruption occurred "during a throw-in". 2c deals with interruptions that occur "during a throw-in". It doesn't get any more on-point than that.

BillyMac Thu Oct 02, 2008 08:25pm

Heads I Win, Tails You Lose ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 540812)
This is why it is my humble opinion that the Alternating Possession in an abomination upon the game and that we should go back to having real jump balls for all jump ball situations.

I hope that you're kidding. I don't want to abolish all jump balls, just the ones that start the game and overtimes. Let's flip a coin, like they do in football, and soccer. I'll bring the coin. Heck, I'll even give the coin to the team that loses the toss. I'm sure that I'll be able to write it off on my taxes. I'll check with my accountant, from the firm of Cook, Books & Hyde, the next time I go to visit him in prison.

Adam Thu Oct 02, 2008 08:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 540875)
Snaqs:

6.4.1D is implying that the error has to be recognized before the throw-in ends. See definition of when a throw-in ends. And remember what is "kinky" in Blazing Saddles.

MTD, Sr.

There you go, then. :)

So, if the throwin is "interrupted" (for lack of a better term), the error can still be fixed. I'm not sure this logically follows from the case play. IOW, I don't find the implication obvious.

Not sure what this has to do with stampeding cattle, but ok. ;)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Oct 02, 2008 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 540891)
There you go, then. :)

So, if the throwin is "interrupted" (for lack of a better term), the error can still be fixed. I'm not sure this logically follows from the case play. IOW, I don't find the implication obvious.

Not sure what this has to do with stampeding cattle, but ok. ;)


Snaqs:

First, Blazing Saddles. Your change in the orignal play was a stroke of evil genius to the point of being kinky per stampeding cattle through the Vatican and Hedly Lamar's response of "kinky."

Second, I am not sure which play to which you are applying NFHS Casebook Play 6.4.1D: The orginal play or your "kinky" (:D) play?

MTD, Sr.

Adam Fri Oct 03, 2008 05:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 540899)
Snaqs:

First, Blazing Saddles. Your change in the orignal play was a stroke of evil genius to the point of being kinky per stampeding cattle through the Vatican and Hedly Lamar's response of "kinky."

You're too kind.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 540899)

Second, I am not sure which play to which you are applying NFHS Casebook Play 6.4.1D: The orginal play or your "kinky" (:D) play?

MTD, Sr.

Honestly, both. After reviewing the case play, I'm not so sure it's not too late for the original play to be corrected.

On my "kinky" play, I think it can be corrected since the throwin never touched an inbounds player.

ps: I'll be training airmen today, but I'll try to check in when I get a chance.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1