The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2008, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Can you cite a rule to back up that statement?

Rule 4-36-2(a) says that the POI is the "spot nearest to where the ball was located WHEN the interruption occurred. That completely contradicts your statement above. You...and the stoopid monkeysat RM.... want to take it to where the ball WAS.

There's a specific case play or interp (in the year the "POI" first appeared) that clarifies that "where the ball was located" is the same as "the spot the ball was last in contact with a player or the court" (or whatever the specific wording in rule 4-Ball Location is)."

IOW, you're wrong, fan boy.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2008, 08:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
Would this same on a violation? Let's say Team A is in the back court, A1 is the lane in the BC, official's count is at 9 and A1 throws a long airborne pass to someone in the front court. Ball is over the FC when the count hits 10, official has a violation. Are you putting the ball in play closest to where it was in the FC when the violation occurred or are you putting it in play on the baseline in Team B's FC?

Last edited by JS 20; Thu Sep 18, 2008 at 08:38am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2008, 08:40am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
Ball is over the FC when the count hits 10, official has a violation. Are you putting the ball in play closest to where it was in the FC when the violation occurred or are you putting it in play on the baseline in Team B's FC?
The ball was still in the backcourt (or technically, "still had backcourt status"), right? That's why you blew the whistle for the violation.

Put the ball in play closest to where the violation occurred. In this case, the violation occurred at the spot where the passer released the ball. It might be near the endline, or it might be near midcourt. It's wherever the passer last touched the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2008, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Thanks, Scrappy. Somehow I missed connecting those dots.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2008, 08:37am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
IOW, you're wrong, fan boy.
Hee-hee-heee!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2008, 10:08am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
There's a specific case play or interp (in the year the "POI" first appeared) that clarifies that "where the ball was located" is the same as "the spot the ball was last in contact with a player or the court" (or whatever the specific wording in rule 4-Ball Location is)."

IOW, you're wrong, fan boy.
POI first appeared in the 2005-06 rulebook. In the 2005-06 casebook...at the very front...the following case play was detailed:

7.5.9 SITUATION A; A1 shoots and while the ball is in flight the officials call a double foul on post players A5 and B5. The try for goal is (a) successful or (b) unsuccessful.
RULING: In both (a) and (b), A5 and B5 are charged with personal fouls and play shall resume from the point of interruption. In (a) the goal shall count and team B is awarded a throw-in anywhere along the end line. In (b), since the point of interruption was an unsuccessful goal, the team entitled to the arrow at the spot nearest to where the ball was located when the fouls occurred.

In the current case book, we have:

4.19.8 SITUATION E: A1 has control of the ball in team A's frontcourt. Post players A5 and B5 are pushing each other in an attempt to gain a more advantageous position on the block while (a) A1 is dribbling the ball;(b) the ball is in the air on a pass from A1 to A2; or (c) the ball is in the air on an unsuccessful try for goal by A1.
RULING In (a) and (b), team A had control of the ball when the double foul occurred . and thus play will be resumed at the point of interruption. Team A will have a designated throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. In (c), no team has control while a try for goal is in flight, and since the try was unsuccessful, there is no obvious point of interruption. Play will be resumed with a throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. had the try been successful, the point of interruption for team B would have been a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line.

Old 7.5.9SitA obviously was incorporated into 4.19.8SitE. Note that we are instructed to locate the throw-in at the closest spot to the ball when the whistle blew, not at the point of origin of a pass/shot. It doesn't say to take it back to where a pass originated from or was deflected, or to where a shot originated from either.

The ball goes to where it IS when you blow the whistle, nor where it WAS.

I couldn't find anything in my old books that says anything different.

JMCO, moderator man.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Sep 18, 2008 at 10:33am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2008, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
POI first appeared in the 2005-06 rulebook. In the 2005-06 casebook...at the very front...the following case play was detailed:

7.5.9 SITUATION A; A1 shoots and while the ball is in flight the officials call a double foul on post players A5 and B5. The try for goal is (a) successful or (b) unsuccessful.
RULING: In both (a) and (b), A5 and B5 are charged with personal fouls and play shall resume from the point of interruption. In (a) the goal shall count and team B is awarded a throw-in anywhere along the end line. In (b), since the point of interruption was an unsuccessful goal, the team entitled to the arrow at the spot nearest to where the ball was located when the fouls occurred.

In the current case book, we have:

4.19.8 SITUATION E: A1 has control of the ball in team A's frontcourt. Post players A5 and B5 are pushing each other in an attempt to gain a more advantageous position on the block while (a) A1 is dribbling the ball;(b) the ball is in the air on a pass from A1 to A2; or (c) the ball is in the air on an unsuccessful try for goal by A1.
RULING In (a) and (b), team A had control of the ball when the double foul occurred . and thus play will be resumed at the point of interruption. Team A will have a designated throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. In (c), no team has control while a try for goal is in flight, and since the try was unsuccessful, there is no obvious point of interruption. Play will be resumed with a throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. had the try been successful, the point of interruption for team B would have been a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line.

Old 7.5.9SitA obviously was incorporated into 4.19.8SitE. Note that we are instructed to locate the throw-in at the closest spot to the ball when the whistle blew, not at the point of origin of a pass/shot. It doesn't say to take it back to where a pass originated from or was deflected, or to where a shot originated from either.

The ball goes to where it IS when you blow the whistle, nor where it WAS.

I couldn't find anything in my old books that says anything different.

JMCO, moderator man.


but wouldn't we consider the definition of ball location in 4-4-3 (last year's book) -- "a ball which is flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court"

Seems to me that means POI is where the pass originated from.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2008, 10:43am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
RULING: In both (a) and (b), A5 and B5 are charged with personal fouls and play shall resume from the point of interruption. In (a) the goal shall count and team B is awarded a throw-in anywhere along the end line. In (b), since the point of interruption was an unsuccessful goal, the team entitled to the arrow at the spot nearest to where the ball was located when the fouls occurred.

In the current case book, we have:

RULING In (a) and (b), team A had control of the ball when the double foul occurred . and thus play will be resumed at the point of interruption. Team A will have a designated throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. In (c), no team has control while a try for goal is in flight, and since the try was unsuccessful, there is no obvious point of interruption. Play will be resumed with a throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. had the try been successful, the point of interruption for team B would have been a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line.
These rulings repeatedly use some form of "ball was located". There's a really neat entry in Rule 4 (Definitions), headed "Ball Location". I've already cited it for you. That tells you how to determine "where the ball was located". I'm not just making this up as I go along. I actually have a rule to back me up.

This is what happens when you skip your Metamucil in the morning.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2008, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
These rulings repeatedly use some form of "ball was located". There's a really neat entry in Rule 4 (Definitions), headed "Ball Location". I've already cited it for you. That tells you how to determine "where the ball was located".

sorry to just repeat what you already posted! I read this sitch earlier and just got around to adding my 2 cents without re-reading all the replies
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2008, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Despite what the rule on ball location appears to say, I'm leaning towards agreeing with JR on this one. I believe the ball location rule is only talking about "general" location.....inbounds/out-of-bounds or backcourt/frontcourt. I don't believe it was ever intended to define precise "location". Status, not position.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Sep 18, 2008 at 12:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2008, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 825
Somehow I get the feeling that there is going to be a POE on the POI. JMHO!
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2008, 12:42pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I don't believe it was ever intended to define precise "location". Status, not position.
With all respect, whatever you believe about the rule, it does indeed define precise location. Until there's a POE that says, "here's what we meant. . .", I think we have to go with what the rulebook actually says.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2008, 01:15pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
I think we have to go with my interpretation of what the rulebook actually says.
Fixed it for ya.....
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2008, 01:14pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I believe the ball location rule is only talking about "general" location.....inbounds/out-of-bounds or backcourt/frontcourt. I don't believe it was ever intended to define precise "location". Status, not position.
What he said.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2008, 01:52pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Despite what the rule on ball location appears to say, I'm leaning towards agreeing with JR on this one. I believe the ball location rule is only talking about "general" location.....inbounds/out-of-bounds or backcourt/frontcourt. I don't believe it was ever intended to define precise "location". Status, not position.

I agree with both JR and Camron. The subject(s) of NFHS Rule 4 is BALL LOCATION, AT DISPOSAL. NFHS R4-S4-A3 states: "A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court." Article 3 has always defined the location of the ball with regard to its status as either being inbounds or out-of-bounds, or being in the backcourt or in the front court. In other words, the ball is either inbounds or out-out-bounds, or the ball is either in the backcourt or the front court. The using of Article 3 in the manner that Referee Magazine is trying to use it is not in keeping with what Article 3 has defined for at least 45 years.

I am adding the following as an edit. Article 3 has always been interpreted to mean court status of the ball, and when it was written there was no such thing as Point-of-Interruption. Maybe Article 3 needs to be tweaked and the penalty needs to be written a little better.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Thu Sep 18, 2008 at 02:00pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Referee Magazine... WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 0 Tue Dec 06, 2005 08:23pm
Referee Magazine bkbjones Softball 1 Thu May 19, 2005 03:51pm
REFEREE magazine john reed Baseball 3 Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:58pm
Referee Magazine Jay R Basketball 15 Mon Dec 29, 2003 07:17pm
Referee Magazine APHP Basketball 9 Sun Mar 03, 2002 10:59pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1